Your Business Networking Tool Kit.

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I just thought I’d share a few thoughts today about business networking and I will share thoughts across a number of articles over the coming days and weeks.

Today I wanted to talk about your “business networking tool kit.” The advice and tips I mention below come from reading books, blog posts, my own experience and conversations with others.

Anyway, here are some of the things that I think you should have in your tool kit.

A quality name badge - I know many feel uncomfortable wearing a name badge but there’s something more uncomfortable than wearing a name badge - it’s when you’re talking to someone and you can’t remember their name. I am sure you feel uncomfortable when someone can’t remember your name. Similarly, they feel uncomfortable if they can’t remember your name.

If you have a quality name badge then you make people feel comfortable when they meet you. If they forget your name they can discreetly scan your badge.

Some networking events will provide badges for everyone. Some won’t. So getting a quality badge where you can make sure you bring your own solves many of these problems.

Quality Business Cards with a blank badge - Quality business cards are important. First impressions count. The quality of design and stock will be remembered.

If you have quality cards can I recommend that you have a blank, non-glossy back. That way, those you hand them out to can make any notes about your meeting that they want - so that they can follow up with you in the future.

For a while there I queried the need for business cards - thinking “I can just connect with them on Linkedin.” Whilst it’s true that I try to connect with people I meet on Linkedin and drive the conversation BUT it was discounting how others wanted to interact. They may want my business card and having a business card from me can often help them remember me.

Business Cards (or at the very least contact details) of others in your network - A great way to make a first impression on someone you meet is by helping them achieve something that they want to achieve. A great way to do this is by faclitating introductions. If you meet someone who says “I need X” and you know someone who can solve this then you should hand over a card. That way you make two people happy - the one you’ve given the referral to and the person whose problem you’ve helped solve.

A smartphone - You don’t bring a smartphone to stand in the corner and ignore everyone. You bring your smartphone in order to use the tech to your advantage. Connect immediately with people you meet on Linkedin, take photos of business cards from people you meet in case you lose them and, if you’re sneaky, get there early and take a photo of name badges at the registration desk so you know exactly who was there.

A pen - Bring a pen to make notes on the business cards of the people you meet - where you met, what you talked about and your next step for follow up.

Just a few tips from me today. I hope you found them valuable. Please share any tips you have in the comments below.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hamishjones! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48