Why I want to be an entrepreneur

in #business7 years ago


Have you ever watched Braveheart? There’s a famous scene where a blue-faced William Wallace played by Mel Gibson joins the battlefield before a big battle between the Scottish in their tartans and the well armored English. Picture the scene! The Scottish troops start deserting, afraid of the superior English forces. The English troops with their metal armor and shields are looking like a huge train on its way to overrun them all. But then one man comes onto the battlefield, defiant to the core. After a moving speech he ends with “They may take our lives, but they may never take our freedom!” The Scottish troops pumped up, ready to defend their sovereignty and fight to the death.
William Wallace had a vision. He saw a free country full of free people; a strong country ready to defend itself against any threats; a prosperous country that allowed its citizens a prosperous life without the help of foreign powers. I won’t even try to make a medieval entrepreneur out of William Wallace. That would be quite a stretch, but I do want to highlight the importance of a vision. A vision moves people. It gives them hope for a better future and reaches people’s deep emotions.
Now for me, I don’t want to follow some other people’s vision. I have my own. I see a company full of free people; a flexible company ready to deal with any threats; a prosperous company that tries to share this prosperity not just with the shareholders but every stakeholder.
But what does that even mean “a company full of free people”? Well go on and ask an employee of your average company to write down his restrictions concerning his job. There will probably be something like “Anything above 10.000$ needs approval from my boss” and other things; many of which are your standard hierarchical limitations. What if on that piece of paper, the employee just wrote down “Anything that makes no logical sense”. Wouldn’t you consider that employee a free person?! Maybe you have already heard of company architectures used by corporations like Gore (polymer-manufacturer) and Valve (software, funnily enough their main product's also called steam) and you know what I’m getting at. Maybe you’re just utterly confused. Either way this is something I will elaborate on further in future blog posts.
For now let’s just say company architecture and business ethics are big parts of that vision and also something that I will discuss on this blog apart from Salsa. All-in-all I have a vision of that company; its architecture, its product and many more aspects of it. I have fire in my eyes and I do not doubt for a second that I will succeed in making that vision come true just like William Wallace made his vision of a free Scotland come true.
In case you didn’t watch the movie, he did win that battle at Stirling Bridge.

PS: I've already made a few posts, but my first introduce yourself was more about my other passion (Salsa), and i still consider myself quite new here :)

Sort:  

How are you? @Germansalsero, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35