Fall Market Days are Going Well!

in #business7 years ago

These days, I find myself very grateful for some oppurtunities that have presented themselves. One of them being a Monday Market where I have been selling baked goods!

1106170800a.jpg

I always thought my family members and friends were just being kind when they got all excited over the Banana Nut bread and other breads I make. But they really do love what I make and were serious when they advised me to go into business! Who knew?!

1106170800-1.jpg

So now my son and I are working the Monday Market and this means 12 hours of baking on Sunday. Florida Cottage Food Laws state that a home bakery cannot have commercial ovens, but a double oven is OK. So I can bake 9 loaves an hour, and I made 90 last Sunday! Plus 10 dozen cookies. Whatever is left after the market gets split up between my CSA customers, who are loving seeing me show up each week right now! In the Spring they get fruits and veggies, in the early summer they get meats like pork and beef, and in the Fall they get jams and baked goods. All for $35 a week. Does that sound fair? Let me know what you think! And

Picture_20170614_205351326.jpg

1026171503b.jpg

Sort:  

Mmmm, those look moist and delicious! Do you feel that you end up well remunerated for your weekly baking marathon. What tunes do you put on to keep you going??! Maybe you have a special baking mix tape!

I listen to slow jazz cafe on YouTube. There are several videos that are 3.5 hours and I love to be inspired. During clean up, though, its Johnny Cash or go home!

Ha ha, yes Johnny Cash would up the ante a bit to get things cleared up!

WOW! You sure have a lot of homemade breads! I am envious!
In regards to the $35... is that what you profit? Or what you have to pay for the table at the market?
What exactly is the $35 for?
Because if you are getting a profit of $35 after 10 hours+ of work, that would be about $3.50/per hour.

@originalworks

Oh, the 35 is per week for my CSA customers. I deliver different items throughout the year to them from the farm.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @farmandadventure to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Those loaves of bread look great. It's a lot of baking, but as long as you enjoy it and it pays off, that really doesn't matter, right?!

At the end of the day, my wrists hurt and my ankles are begging for mercy, and my heart is full :0)
I love it!

We love fresh baked breads! I love the market idea and the CSA. I would have never thought about a bread CSA but I love that idea!

Yall would love my Apple Fire bread (its like apple pie and Jack Daniels Fire had a baby Lol). Nice to hear from you!

90 Loaves of bread in one day! WOW! You are a machine!

I have it down to a science! Mise en place is an artform!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29