My first business deal on the Steem Blockchain Update #1: Logo drafts arrived.

in #business7 years ago (edited)

A little more than a week ago I made a blog post offering max. 250 SBD to have a logo designed for me. I wanted it to be a real business deal on the blockchain.

I chose @twistychips to make my logo and he sent me the first drafts today and I think they are great.



He will get a T-shirt too...but truth be told I just wanted to have another reason to post a picture of Little Sam


For the readers that just want to see the drafts. Here they are:


Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 2.33.20 AM.png


The reasoning behind the logo's

  1. The pixelated one is because what you are doing is mostly all digital, and the colors on the black background is a symbol of your life transformation, you are coloring in the colors to your old dark past.

  2. The second one basically represents your "now", it's colorful, it's playful, you are busy, and it has a caleidoscope feeling to it, which is what you are presenting on the internet.

  3. The third draft, obviously it doesn't look good at the moment. but the idea behind this is that the e symbol at the top is formed by things you like, and the bottom is your name. I'm picturing this in the same colors as the previous drafts, but I wanted you to see the idea before I go further with it.

Longer read: How the deal went down and the first drafts were made.

I spoke to @twistychip on Steemchat and he asked me several things before he could even start with the logo.

He wanted to know what I would use the logo for, what I wanted it to portray and to send him logo's I like and don't like so he has an idea of where I wanted to go with it.

I send him this text:


To tell you a little about myself. Before the age of 27, I was a very closed person. Liked dark clothes and being by myself most of the time. I spend a lot of time playing video games (world of warcraft) and was perfectly happy with that. My world was small.

At some point I realized my life was not going anywhere so I decided to do something about it. First I stopped smoking then started to gain weight and exercising. I went out more. I spend more time running my IT business. It became way more successful because of that effort. I got into crypto in 2013. I'm more outspoken and 200% more confident than I used to be. Managed to find a girlfriend too :) Her name is Bianca.

I also like colors now. I now always wear colorful socks (happy socks) and more and more colorful T-shirts. I have a hard time listening to negativity too. I try to avoid it if I can or deal with asap. I also show emotion way more than I used to. I like to be surrounded by people that have a positive outlook on life.

At the age of 33 I feel better than I ever felt before. My goal is to become financially free and from there I want to help others.

I found Steemit in July of 2016. Started to blog on there. Had a great time. Never stopped blogging. Recently I started to vlog. Was a bit scared at first but I like to try new things. I hated new things in the past. Now I feel very comfortable doing it.

I would like the logo to be a reflection of my transformation.

On Steemit I blog about crypto, life in general and grilling and chilling. I recently bought a green egg (grill) and having a blast with it. But this is the now, I like to keep discovering new things so I'll no doubt mix it up in the future.

I would like to use the logo on a t-shirt, coffee cup, apron and blog posts and maybe other things I have not thought of. I would like it to be versatile. Scalable for different purposes would be cool.

I send you some logo's that I like and that I don't like.

You already told me this process might take longer than I would think. I hope this is a good start.

Cheers, Exyle


And I send him these logos as requested: Logo's I like and don't like.


logo'sd.jpg


I then send him the promised 25% down payment


weqeq.jpg


He went to work with this info and today sent me the drafts posted above.

I'm really impressed by the professional way of acting by @twistychips. He told me he is a freelancer and usually charges more money for his services.

I'm most likely will go with the first draft because I like the meaning behind it. It's also colorful and has blocks (as in blockchain, which I love) and it's easy to work with on products.

Remember this is just a first draft. He now is going to fine tune the design.

This was the update of my first business deal on the blockchain. I think it's working fine so far!


signature Follow Me @exyle


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

It's been a dream working with @exyle, he's not familiar with the process, which most people aren't if they haven't done this before, and it's totally OK! The best thing about him is that he's willing to listen and learn, which, if there are fellow designers reading this, you know how that makes our lives so so so much easier!! The worst clients aren't the ones who don't know anything, but the ones who don't know anything, don't wanna listen, but wanna butt in and point too many fingers around. Lol

Thank you for trusting me!

Great job on the logos man. I think it's great what you and @exyle are doing to promote business transactions on the platform and show just yet another of the many ways Steemit can be of benefit. I dig the first one!! :) Keep up the great work!!

Thank you so much! It's been very interesting doing this with Exyle for sure!

Love the thought and effort you put into this and love what you sent him regarding your transformation to where you are now in your life. Your current situation is the you of the past b/c it is made up of every decision you've made previously that's led you to your present self. The future is whatever you want it to be based on your choices moving forward.

I think @twistychips has done some great work. I'll give my 2 cents, I really dig the first one for precisely the reasons you stated. You're in the process of developing the new you, with each new choice you slowly replace the choices of the past and come more into the light.

Really dig what you've done with this project brother!

Sorry for the late reply. I missed this one. I think what the artist came up with from the info I gave him is spot on. I love the idea of coloring in the black blocks.

I always love the pictures of Little Sam, he is truly adorable.

Yeah those logos are nice. Very cheerful.

Little Sam is absolutely adorable @exyle! I just want to cuddle up with him haha.
All the logo's look so good. Great Job @twistychips
My favourite one is the one with all the kitchen utensils to form an 'e' as it really conveys all the great culinary work that you do here.
It is great to see people hiring people with jobs with SBD and I hope in the future this continues and we have a great steem economy and ecosystem.

Thank you! I think with all the comments flooding in, it'll make his decision even harder haha

I like the second logo the most :-) and btw we also have a 5 1/2 month old daughter named Sam.

I do like the colors in that one! It's so cheerful! Sam is my sister's boy. Such a versatile name :)

so you said that you managed to get a girlfriend... that's a perfect recipe for a baby :-) it really is amazing to be a daddy :-)

You just made his decision harder. Lol

I think if you outline the coloured triangles with a black border it would look really nice. Just my modest opinion :-)

I was thinking about it actually, but since it's a draft, I wanted him to see them and see what he says first. :) thank you for your sugg

I couldn't resist it :-)

Yayyyyy nice! Thank you!

yes I also like it. I just added an outline to all the colours 1px and a perimeter outline of 2px. the second logo has also a dropshadow to give it some depth. peace

Very nice job with that logo, good shot

The reasoning behind the logos is pretty good however the execution could be better but I'm sure twistychips will tweak everything in the final version. Also nice to see how your life has changed for the better and how crypto has impacted your life on a positive note. I hope it will impact my life in a similar fashion.

Thank you. I saw the logo's without the watermarks and they look way more bright. I can;t wait for the tweakers. When I changed my mindset I changed my life. I hope you can do the same.

I'd love to work with you too @exyle . Please do conduct some another business deal on Steemit. I would definitely be a part of that. I am a huge fan of you and It's like a dream to work with you. It's been an honor for @twistychips to work with you.

What kind of work do you do?

Well, I am professionally a motivational speaker and writer. But I also do freelancing. From articles writing to photos editing . I am also a part time crypto trader. So, if you ever have any work for me, please consider this as a job application sir. @exyle

I guess all logos are nice if you like them, it's all a matter of taste. Sam is cute man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72