Sort:  

ubuntu because i dream of running these bots on small computers - maybe smartphones - so i can take my bot for a walk or on a holiday

Cool. I have an ages old laptop with 1 MB of RAM lying somewhere and collecting dust.

What are the minimum requirements for running a bot? I guess they must be much smaller than for running a node or even mining...

Well your machine needs to be able to go online and somehow connect to steemit ...
I'm trying to use piston ...

For a simple auto vote algorithm you don't need a lot of CPU power, obviously, thats an easy job.
At this point I'm just struggling how to work with piston.
It seems to me the most promising way to do it though.

Oh yeah and 1 MB will not be enough.
but a raspberry pi could do it i guess ....

Sorry, 1GB , of course :) Running Windows XP. I can format it and install Ubuntu.

I was a sysadmin on linux servers years ago so I still remember a bit about bash :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99