"Strategically Using Business Cards"

in #business7 years ago

GettyImages-157859775-56b09a955f9b58b7d0245137.jpg
Sales Coaching Tip 1: Business Cards Are They Worth It?
When I first began to work for myself I invested a decent amount of money into business cards, I saw all the advertisements of how business cards would help people grow their businesses and validate them in their respective industry.

Well that was bad information, I really had fell for great marketing and ended up spending much more money than I should have on some tiny shiny pieces of paper! What we all should be focusing on is how to build relationships but I will get to that in a moment.

I also quickly found after handing out hundreds of business cards that people would request them simply as a way of brushing me off. People are mostly polite by nature and will tell “sure I’m interested, let me have your business card and I will call you”. For a new sales person this is exciting until you sit by the phone anxiously awaiting that phone call and the phone NEVER RINGS.

This can be discouraging at first but also a good learning experience, the truth is you haven’t earned the right for a phone call from a prospective client or buyer because you have yet to provide any true value. Here is where things get tricky and you can potentially turn that business card into a gold mine.

I began to scan and photocopy both the front of my card and I also kept a pdf version on standby, when I would spark up conversations with individuals that I would offer my services too or if they requested my business card I would always say “I knew you would ask me that, I have been out all-day meeting people just like you and I’m fresh out. I do however have a virtual version I can send to you now, what is your phone number and email address?”

Now during this conversation my phone is already out and I’ve already began to save their name in my contacts, I have gotten little to know objection to this technique and when I do get that rare objection I simply say “John I will not spam you are call you attempting to sell you something I would however like to store your name in my database just in case I have some information you may find of value, my ultimate goal is to add value to your life and that doesn’t necessarily mean you have to be my client for me to do so.” Unless the person is flat out not interested then they will give you their information.

Now that you have landed their contact information it is up to you to develop a personalized marketing system for that individual and not just some cookie cutter spam email or text. Keep in mind your goal is to BUILD A RELATIONSHIP, you need to build a relationship so strong by adding value that you now have another person marketing your services and referring you no matter if they themselves do business with you or not!

Good Luck and best regards from your friend Dunneille Anderson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31