Why Selling Is Human

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Some people really hate the word sales and I totally understand why. When we hear this word we immediately think of an annoying salesman trying to sell us a car. But is just this? Can a sale be a good thing for a person? Better, can be a sale something that changes our lives for better?

In my opinion yes. A sale can be one of the bests things to happen in someone's life. 

So, "Why Selling Is Human"? Let's find out!

Love

One of the best examples to show how a sale can be a great thing! 

Do you remember how did you fell in the last time you was in love? What can you remember? Maybe happiness, mutual understanding, someone to dream together. And how did you conquer the person?

I believe you started to talk with her. You started to trying to understand how could you please her. And for this, you started to make questions. Believe or not. This is the first stape to make a sell. 

To sell something you need to believe in that thing! If you want to conquer the love of your life you need to believe that you are the right guy or girl. And you need to sell the idea to her/him! If you do it well this "sell" can be one of the best things in you live. You can counquer the love of your live. Awesome, right?! 

Dreams

Like some of you know I'm the co-founder of Eddisrupt. For this reason, I need to sell a lot. But I never really use a typical sales pitch. Why? Everyone is different. In Eddisrupt, we want to have a big social impact. For this reason, we sell our products at a low price. For the client, this is awesome however, because of this, we don't make a lot of money and for us it's difficult to hire great professionals. So we need to know how to sell our dream very well.

For example. Last week we hired a great programmer to teach in our Bootcamp. So what we did? I did a deep and big investigation about him. In this research, I found that he did some education volunteer, he started a small project in Brasil to give the opportunity for disadvantaged people study and another projects. 

So I understand he has some type of relation to social impact projects. 

Like I said, we don't have 3k to pay for the job. So instead saying: Well, X person. You know... We don't have enough money to pay for your work, and etc... and we want hire you. We talk to the heart. First I make some questions about his projects. What he learned, what he achieved, why he started the project, etc. After this, I ask him what he thinks about the education system of Portugal. He gave a great answer and I and Bruno (the other co-founder). We understood the opportunity and made the question. Something like: "We see that you are a "social person" and you have the same dream as we. So do you want to join the team?"

Like you can imagine I jumped some points in this negotiation but you can get the overview.

People don't buy what you do, they buy why you do it

This point is a little bit different. I want to share with you the main reason for people buy something. So, let's start.

You should use this one in all the previous point. 

Like Simon Sinek says: People don't buy what you do, they buy why you do it.

For me this means everything. If we understand this "philosophy" we will be great sellers.

The best sellers is the person who knows "influence" and not sells. Something like we did in the hiring section but better eheh

We have 23 years old, so we are learning how to do it yet.

The best company doing this was Apple. For me Apple is... How can I say... Well, Apple is not Apple since Steve Jobs died.

Can you remember the slogan? What do you think when Apple comes to the conversation? In my case is innovation, brilliance and of course. The slogan, "Think Different". 

So "they don't sell". They influence the people. It's different. Let me know if you want an article about this. Like techniques of selling, or something about the difference between selling and influencing.

Conclusion

We are always selling something. An idea, a dream, a product, etc. Check your latest SMS. I believe you will find that you were trying to influence someone to give you a like in a post, or to cook your favorite food., well you get the point.

So for all this reason, I believe "Selling Is Human". We are humans and humans always want something that doesn't have yet. So selling is a good way to achieve them.

Let me know what you think about this perspective and share your thoughts in the comments section.

Let me know if you want to know more about sells. Like, what to say/do when someone says "Wow! It's too expensive for me". 


By the way, check the last post of @bluedemon about "3 Kickass Job Interview Tips for Entrepreneurs". I believe he can help you! :)

Se you later

Sort:  

Great post. I really wish you all the best with Eddisrupt.

what do say/do when someone says "Wow! It's too expensive for me".

People say this all the time when I try to 'sell' the idea of eating grass-fed beef, raw milk, organic free-range hens/eggs. 'It's too much,' they say. 'I can buy that for half the price in...'

I believe you need to 'remind' the person what is important to them. What their priorities are. For me, I prefer to pay extra for high-quality food because I know it'll cost me less in healthcare later on. Health is priceless.

You're right to find out what their dreams/desires are. That way you understand whether your model can make their dreams come true. If so, there's no selling at all. They'll go all in without a push :D

Cheers
Anj x

First of all. Thank you so much for your comment. I really appreciated knowing what are you thinking.

Well, I understand this kind of people. I one of them ahahah
But I also understand you and give you all the reason. I don't know about the specific people you are talking but in my case is difficult. I'm a universitarian student and I just have more or less 200€ for mouth xb So I can't do a lot of things with 200€ ahah

But one day, I will follow your lead!

About the last part of your comment. You are totally right! I feel the same. I don't like to sell but I love make their dreams come true and earn money for that ahahah

If you can make people's dreams come true ... You're gonna be rich!
Best of luck to ya
Anj x

I hope you are right eheh
Let's see whats happen :)

I like your post, very good post maybe other people also like it, the picture is also very good, because I like to read about something new in my life, hopefully the next post is better, thanks .. :)

Thanks, man. I appreciated. I will check what you have too :)
giphy (8).gif

i like the idea of ''we're always selling''.

Great!! eheh
In my opinion, this is the reality eheh

Do you have some story or experienci to share with us? :)

sure. this is a sales structure, whatever you sell either a product, service or idea that's how people buy it:
%60 who you are
%30 how you sell
%10 what you sell

Great tips man!
I really enjoy it. Thanks! 👌
k39w535jFPYrK.gif

nice photos greetings and invite you to my profile :)

Thanks.

Hum... Ok. let me check.

Marketing 24/7 ahah !

I don't get it xb
What do you mean? eheh

Marketing all over your daily routine mate!

Oh!! Yeah Yeah! Obviously ahah
I'm waiting for your next post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90