HOW SMART PEOPLE EARN SEVEN FIGURES FROM “BAD-MOUTHing"

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Some years back, I was trekking from Sheraton junction to Wuse park with my splendid shoe some haters said looks like worn out canoe.

In the frustration of my red account balance I couldn't help but criticize the poorly designed product flyer a guy handed to me.

“Na wa for this una flyer oh. See how the tin whack. These fonts no just fresh. The contact details no even clear. Abeg carry this thing comot from my face jare." I grunted

“Bros, if you no wan collect, leave am na. I force you? Which kind rubbish talk be this. I nor be your mate oh... bla bla." The flyer guy kept ranting with an upset tone

In the heat of the argument, a man who I later learnt was the company head of marketing came to calm things down.

To avoid looking like the devil who started the whole drama, I explained that I was only trying to give a constructive criticism to help their company grow better.

Criticism ke. Frustration ni. To my uttermost surprise, Oga bought the ‘scope’ and even apologized for his staff misbehavior.

He even pleaded I come explain the ‘fault' to his graphic artist so it can be corrected. On getting to the office, I couldn't help but observe several things wrong with their corporate branding, office tools and staff relation. I did my I.T. in a standard organisation so detecting where their company lagged wasn’t a challenge.

The graphic artist happened to be an old acquittance of mine. So, in the bid to gist before getting down to business, I opened my big mouth and started tongue lashing how unprofessional his organization was.

Moments later, the General Manager invited me over to his office and told me he overheard everything I said. At that point, my only prayer was for the ground to temporary swallow me.

To my uttermost surprise, the Manger made a request that was about to upgrade my financial game forever. His words were “I want my company to grow, if you can fix those corporate problem you mentioned, I don’t mind paying you as our consultant.”

After intensive discussion and long story, we struck a quarter million deal.

Wait, N250k for just bad-mouthing? Aye mi oh. Trust me, that same week I wrote letter of critiques identifying faults to over 23 companies, 17 either rejected or didn't reply, 5 invited me over, 2 eventually hired me to fix their corporate problem. And that grossed me a seven-figure bank balance.

So, can you earn from critique? Absolutely yes. Having trained several entrepreneurs/organisations, I've discovered anyone in any sector can actually leverage the power of ‘bad-mouthing’ (critique).

Look for a "fault" in your field of expertise; strategically offer to solve it; get paid doing it.

If you have no field of expertise, you can still benefit. How? Search "Ad Critique" on Google and you'll see various strategies on how to criticize all forms of advertisement materials.

Then begin to hunt flyers, banners, advert materials etc of different organisations around you. Critically identity the fault. Reach out to the organization with a presentable offer. Get the contract. Hire a graphics artist to correct the "fault". Bank the mulla!

Mr leadership Coach, pick out issues you see in a individuals or organizations, carefully analyse it, construct strategic proposal, offer to solve it.

Hey, shoot your shot unashamedly! You'll eventually get immune to the rejection. Even Steve Harris said some offices bounce his proposals till date. The few who say yes would by far overshadow the many who say no! This principle doesn't just apply to Critique Business Model, its part of life's whole process.

Well, don't go and embarrass your genealogy by presenting unprofessional proposals. Don't dare appear before any organization like someone just deported from Wakanda. Give a price quote depending on the status of the individual or organization you're critiquing.

Sometimes, you may offer to critique them for free to upsell your other products. I've seen it work dozens of time.

I'll end this article with a scenario from a client of mine - Anita

Anita worked as a cook in Chicken Republic. Her cousin recommended me for business coaching. So, I instructed she eat out in various eateries to find faults with their meals, staffing and operations. Anita thought she had met ‘one chance’ Coach. However, in other not to waste her coaching fee, she grudgingly heeded.

After weeks of hunting for faults we packaged constructive critique letters offering to fix their problem to thirteen eateries. Five eateries contracted her (i.e N200k each) and two permanently retained her as their consultant. Guys, critique pays!

Begin to coin critiques from your field of interest or just practice "Ad Critique". Several websites even pay you for ‘badmouthing' movies, books, brand etc. Google it and see wonders. You mustn't submit hard paper critiques letters, a DM, email or phone call could do. Depending on the organization anyway.

Also, leaders should learn to get critique fededback from customers/clients via surveys. It accelerates organization growth.

Leverage this business model to step up your financial game. Bill Gate said “If you were born poor, it isn't your fault, but if you die poor, it's your fault”.

My name is Lovemore Leonard and I just want to build financially free people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86