A great product will be sold by it's users

in #business7 years ago

This evening I was in a Superstore to buy a loaf of bread. Not being a fan of bread, I was a little confused on which brand to go for and was going to pick anyone at random when I decided to use one of my ancient shopping tactics on one of the store attendants.

So I said, "Hey bro, How are you doing? I want you to choose for me your best bread brand of all these different brands." As he was gladly going to choose one another man shopping beside me said, "bro, pick this", pointing to a particular brand, "You will never regret it. Its the best bread in the world!!!"

That caught my attention and I was like "really?" Then he went on to tell me how his wife wouldn't eat any other brand but that brand, he told me how the bread is best with tea or coffee or just eaten alone and went on and on for about 5 minutes.

The more he talked, the more fascinated i was by the fact that this guy is just a CUSTOMER (from his uniform, he works elsewhere) a user of that "product" and was so desperate about having me try it out. I asked the store attendant also and he confirmed the bread is awesome, ordinarily I won't have picked it because it was off at the edge of the shelf. So, i bought it and the bread was so good (about being the best bread in the world, well, I have no comments. But its one of the best I have had so far.)

Often times, its not about how good your promotional video is or how much you spend on marketing, its about optimal customer satisfaction. A lot of entrepreneurs and business leads, focus on the packaging, marketing etc, but where the focus should be is the product and the User experience. I remembered when we just finished our POS software and we were still hoping to do the documentation, marketing strategy and all. I sold the software to a friend and in less than a month, we sold to about 5 others in his mall without product documentation, or packaging. As a matter of fact, we were considering changing the name at that time, but the product was already selling because the users; needs were met. It was meeting the users' needs in a way others are not.

Focus on the product but do not also neglect other things. A burning candle can't be kept under a bushel.

Sort:  

So true! I live in Playa del Carmen, Mexico and it relies on mainly tourists as the economy. Sitting at a restaurant, the waiters are always trying to lure customers in based on the menu or price. I will always call out to the people and tell them how much we enjoy the food, the atmosphere, the waiters' personalities...they always come in! It's the User experience for sure..bang on!!

You got that spot on. User experience is almost everything. On a lighter note, I've never been to Mexico. I would love to visit someday even though I can't afford it right now. Good to hear your thoughts.

You like shopping?

Yeah, I do. Only when I can though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44