What Is The Difference Between An Entrepreneur And A Business Owner? And How Will The Steemit Chamber Of Commerce Provide Services?

in #business7 years ago

Welcome to the Steemit Chamber Of Commerce!


From the perspective of my job as a…I am not sure there is a title for what I do for many of my past clients and employers. They come to me when they are stagnant and need a shove to get off the shoreline. Going out to deeper waters is not always easy – especially, if you don’t know how to research or read the winds.


Is There A Difference Between An Entrepreneur And A Business Owner?

Yes, but really there is a simpler way to say this:

Not every business owner should be the CEO of their company. Which leads to the next question: Why not?

A CEO is similar to an entrepreneur, except they might not own the business. They are both thinking long term and planning for growth. A business owner traditionally is focused on what they need to get done this week.

When a business is small, there is no harm in a business owner being their own CEO. But as the business grows, if the owner is not an entrepreneur and not able to see the strategies that will allow growth – it is time to hire a CEO with these abilities.


The Focus Of This Chamber Of Commerce

With the above concept in mind, my goal is to provide the tools and resources that will help all folks become small business owners. And over time grow into amazing entrepreneurs. The secret is that there is no secret.

I was asked many times growing up, what was my secret for being a great leader. And in the beginning, I really thought I was born with my leadership abilities. Not until I began teaching (while in high school) did I begin to see that I could help them see the traits that they needed to develop to be a better leader.


Learning, Earning, Returning

Many folks and publications have expressed that this notion should be done in a linear method.

• You spend the first third of your life learning and gaining knowledge.
• You spend the second third of your life earning through your chosen career.
• You spend the last third of your life returning through being a mentor or volunteering in the community.

I say poppycock! This goes against the concept that we have no control over when our lives may end. It also throws mud at the very concept that learning ever ends. Just ask all the professions that have to take continuing education courses because their professions are always changing.

The goal is to help small business owners find their way using the principles of continual Learning, Earning, Returning. All articles, projects, resources developed…will be focused on these concepts to build a stronger business community in the Steemitverse.


Returning

The first two community projects will be focused on @mobbs and @krazykrista. They are both amazing Steemians.

I am not going into details at this moment, but I will say that @krazykrista has wanted to open a food pantry in her community to help folks that are facing hard times. When we help on Steemit Chamber of Commerce member, we help more than one person – always keep this in mind.


Now is the time to disrupt and build something amazing. What corner of society can you light up?


source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16