You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Reasons For: The Women's Leadership Gap

in #business7 years ago

My bot upvoted this and now I'm just getting to read it. It is a very interesting topic that I have thought a lot about myself.
Don't take any of this as sexist or anything like that. I love women. :-) These are just observations I have made over time. I have played a lot of sports and you see it a lot on a basketball court. Guys are more likely to get into a fight. They are always fighting for their position and anyone in their way needs to get out of the way. Women often times play more passive. They aren't as aggressive most of the time when they play and they aren't as argumentative. Also guys often times practice very hard outside of organized practice and in the off season. Girls rarely do this. Usually they just go to practice when it is organized. You also see this when it comes to post collegiate athletes who graduated from college and are trying to make a spot on the Olympic team or for professional baseball, basketball, football....etc. A lot of guys keep going and trying to make it. Women are more likely to just stop trying to make a team. I see this recreationally as well. Just as many girls played high school basketball as boys but when you see pickup games at the YMCA or LA Fitness or wherever it is almost always all guys. Once in awhile we will get a girl who comes out and plays. Now one might ask what this has to do with women in business getting equal pay and holding high positions. Well I feel like it has to do with aggressive drive and willingness to put up with some of the hardship that comes along with not having everything laid out for a person.

In an entrepreneurial endeavor I feel that women have had a harder time here because it is all about disruption. Business is brutal and you are disrupting your competitors. Either you are offering a better price or a better service or making a competing product. In the United States if you are running a business you are very likely to get sued. This is very scary and I feel like women can't handle all this disruption and conflict as easily. Going back to the basketball example. Guys play in a manner that if someone is going to get in our way we are still going to take the ball to the hoop and either score or get fouled. On defense we are always going to try to block the other guys shot. Successful players don't back down.
I think in a corporate environment women are oftentimes scared to take charge and just do something that isn't spelled out. I have worked for a couple large corporations that had very specific standard operation procedures in place. Myself and other guys wouldn't be completely afraid to just take charge and do something a little different.

I have also never seen a woman jump off a cliff higher than 35 foot. Anything higher would be too risky. While they are probably smart for not jumping off the higher cliffs they are also afraid to take a risk. A guy looks at it and knows it is stupid and is scared but knows that if he survives he will feel like a badass and everyone else will know who the boss is.

I don't know if it is social conditioning or testosterone or a combination of the two. Guys are just more prone to conflict and taking on risk.

I think women can succeed in business and being entrepreneurs but I feel like most would possibly take a different approach than guys would. Possibly a more thought out more reserved approach.

Again none of what I said should be taken as if I believe that women can't be successful. I like strong women and the women I hang out with don't need a man. If that makes sense.

Sort:  

Very interesting observation and analysis. I totally agree with your points that women tend to approach situations differently then men, are more risk reluctant and as a result on average less likely to be successful in a competitive field such as entrepreneurship in comparison to men. I also like your example with sports, where you can clearly see evidence for your observation and I believe there are plenty more examples. Thanks for giving your p.o.v! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66