Start a Part Time Business - Business Startup Day 0

in #business7 years ago (edited)

I work as social marketer for online business for a couple of years now and always wanted so start my own business.

A month ago, i decided to start an online e-com drop-shipping business as this type of business fit me well at this time (still work for others businesses and so i only have a limit amount of time)

The business model is you take products from manufacturers with low price and sell in your online store with higher price and the different will be your profit.

So i start listing all the thing i need for my first business

1 - find manufacturers with good products and low price

2 - build my online store

3 - what niche do i want to build?

4 - who is my customer?

5 - how do i market my product to them?

6 - how do i scale my business if it doing well in the future?

7 - what is the realistic goal in sale that i want to achieve in the next month, the next 3 months and at the end of the year.

After i write down the question. Next, i write down answer for each question.

1 - aliexpress

2 - shopify ( prestashop and wordpress is also very good)

3 - general niche

4 - i don't recommend people to go after general niche as it is most of the time harder to grow compare to single niche store. But due to my work, i have list of over 30 different niches with customers targeting detail so i'm taking the risk less then other.

5 - i'm good at Facebook advertising so i will mainly focus on Facebook advertising for all of my product. aside from this, i also do some offline ads.

6 - The main way would be to know when to scale my FB ads, for now.

7 - $1,000 in sales for the first month, then $5,000 and $10,000 at the end of the years.

With all answer i need in place, i started to build my store and pick product and today i finally done will all that.

Tomorrow, i will pick a couple of potential products and start marketing.

Below is a screenshot of the product page. This is the page where i will direct all traffic to. I will probably choose a different product but the page will look very similar.

I will keep the url hidden for now as i have already have some re-targeting pixel in the website.

Lets talk about the pros and cons of this type of business:

Pros:

- consume less of my daily time compare to most type of businesses out there.

- can sale up very big

- easy to find good products

Cons:

- don't have control over when product will be shipping to customer and the quality of the product.

- competitive, lots of other probably selling similar product out there.

If you interested to see how this business go then follow me. If you already running a similar business and need any help, feel free to ask me any question.

Sort:  

Nicely framed article..
Upvote and also following you now..
Follow me back at @nitish.puranik

My friend told me to do this type of business. I will follow you. Keep me posted how it goes.

Great post, this is something I am definitely interested in doing also. Upvoted and following!

Nice sharing. Good advise to start your own business.

100% upvote and followed. I am really interested in what you are doing!

Great post👍

you are not on steemit chat? I wanted to pm you there. Hopefully you create an account and write me and mention maybe steemit startup or steemit business . looking forward to get in touch and know each other. You have great visions and Idea's!
all other's feel free to write me too, if you are interested in such marketing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45