You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Economy for the Benefit of All Life // The Next Economy #1

in #business7 years ago

The next economy, in my opinion needs to be an economy where the collective consciousness understands its interconnectedness and cherishes the success of another as equal to, or even more valuable, to the success of their own.

I say this because societies destroy themselves when they forget that this truly is the case...

I like what you said here:

There are examples of getting what we want in ways that uplift each other, rather than put each other down.

The next economy will be one that truly embraces the win-win scenario. Where helping another is helping yourself.

I see that a lot here on Steemit. Where by curating and upvoting another's posts, you are not only supporting that Steemian but you are also getting tangible and intangible value back.

When the value because very real and obvious alongside the not so real and obvious stuff (comradery, positivity, etc), then it'll be much easier for an collective to operate for the good of all, rather than for the good of just a select few.

I really appreciate this post here and it's really an important thing to think about as we move forward into a brand new way of engaging and exchanging goods and services.

Thanks for sharing this @jaredwood!

PS: I wrote a really fun article about some things that I think would better our world and influence us on an individual level in a positive way. Had a ton of fun creating it and I'd love to hear your thoughts! 10 Highly Influential Things I Do Every Single Day [Part 2]

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful reply, @axios! I wholeheartedly agree with:

The next economy will be one that truly embraces the win-win scenario. Where helping another is helping yourself.

This is the key framing that has been forgotten, and the shift in consciousness we need. How to achieve this in practice I think also means more lived interdependence - and learning from peoples who do practice this mentality on the daily. For many parts of the world, there is nothing new about this idea, it's just life. Dignified life.

I think the question becomes how to shift production, consumption, sharing, etc. at large into these win-win situations.

And how to correct the zero-sum (for me to win, you have to lose) mentality that has sadly infected so many. When people realize that after a certain point material wealth really doesn't make you happier, we can collectively forget about this ridiculous chase to see who can burn up the most of our commons the fastest.

Exactly.

I'm a big fan of cultural modeling. I think that if we were to, as a collective, pick out the best parts of global culture that actually work and also provide for the greater good through win-win systems, we would inevitably find ourselves reinventing a very profound future.

Do you have examples you find inspiring?

I just wrote about one of my favorites - the library - which is taken for granted but actually has a lot to teach us.

I just left a fun comment on your article :)

I am personally inspired by Japanese culture.

Specifically the modern interior design. I love the concept of being clutter free as it truly does stimulate the minds in ways you aren't expecting. Also, being immersed in nature is another aspect that really does inspire new waves of thought. The glass window walls are a huge one for me in this sense.

The aspect of being low to the floor feels inviting and open to me as well, which is what I would want if I were going to interact with anyone in my life!

Just a few examples there ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03