Japan’s Minister of Cybersecurity Has Never Used a Computer?!

in #business6 years ago

Yes, you read that headline right and don’t worry because I couldn’t believe it either! How on Earth do you get named as the Minister of Cybersecurity for one of the most technologically advanced countries in the world and not know how to use a computer?! Japan has been well known for years now as an entity that is far advanced of the rest of the globe in technology and electronics so wouldn’t you want to name someone to that position that actually knows how to use the technology that the country is so well known for? That would make sense to me, but what do I know?

Yoshitaka Sakurada told the Lower House cabinet committee during a meeting that he has NEVER found the need to use a computer during his professional career and the guy is 68 years old!


Photo from Jiji Press

A Look at the Facts

"I don't use computers because since I was 25 I have been in a position of authority where secretaries and employees handle such tasks for me," Sakurada said according to the Japan Times.

The same article states that he was not certain about the current state of cybersecurity at nuclear power plants or even what a USB drive is. His interview was broadcast on national television! The guy has some serious stones to admit what he did publicly, let alone on national TV!

Or maybe he is just out of his element and should be considered for a job that he is more qualified for?

Generational Problems

My own father didn’t even know how to use email until a few years ago and I cried laughing the first time I got a text message from him but he taught himself how to do these things because he knew that he would need them in order to do his job properly and to function in modern society. He’s a similar age to Sakurada and it’s well known that that generation has problems with learning technology.

But, if you are going to do a job then learn how to do the job! If we plebs have to learn how to do our jobs then he should be held accountable to the same standard or give the job up to someone more qualified. This isn’t the first time this guy has been in hot water publicly and he hasn’t held this position long.

Ok, I’ll stop ranting now. But, seriously, I will be following up on this story because I am seriously interested in how this one will play out.

What do you think? I would love to hear all about it!

Thanks for reading,

Jeff

Sort:  

Honestly, that is the best way to protect yourself cyberly.

I guess so, in a way, but if you are going to run cyber security for a highly plugged in society then shouldn't you understand the technology?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47