Entrepreneurial Consulting: Open-Source Format

in #business8 years ago

Ever since I first heard about the open-source model, I was instantly fascinated with the idea of knowledge sharing for the general benefit of the community and, hopefully, mankind as a whole. I wanted to expand the model and move it into a space I am more knowledgeable about: business.   

I recently graduated with my MBA from Sacramento State. Although it doesn’t bear the same weight or recognition as an Ivy League title, I still maintain a pragmatic business sense and enjoy helping other people see things from a contrarian’s point of view. I have a passion for learning and was bitten by the entrepreneurial bug.   

As a self-proclaimed scientist, I enjoy the thrill of experimentation. That’s why I’d like to offer my time and services for free to those interested in getting some “professional” guidance. Anyone seeking candid and confidential advice about solving their unique and individualized business problems – feel free to contact me.    

I understand there may be some obvious apprehensions toward sharing confidential information with a random fool posting blogs (don’t worry – I won’t Zuckerberg your ass). Hell, I’ll even send you my resume if you need some form of verifiable proof. More to the point - this is exactly why this framework has to be fundamentally built off of two key tenets: Time and Trust.   

Time – The most precious, intangible currency humans possess. Ironically, time physically manifests itself into a tangible element we’ve come to love and hate: cash. Being that time is the most precious resource and I also have a life outside of work (theoretically), we must both be respectful of each others' level of time and commitment before plundering into the depths of business analysis.  

Trust – If you’re anything like me, you question the motives of everyone else around you. My goal here is to establish a mutual connection, expand my network, and provide a trusted second pair of eyes.    

I am currently in the middle of starting up two separate companies in two completely different sectors (I hope to release this information at a later date, but am bound by confidentiality restraints as of now). Other than my business partners, I have no one else to turn to when I come across roadblocks. I’m hoping I will be able to help navigate you through the seas of mystery in order to achieve your entrepreneurial goals.   

Although I highly doubt anyone will be submitting any business proposals to my inbox, I felt this was a worthwhile endeavor to explore. Let’s see where this shit goes.   

Strength and Honor.

Sort:  

Dude, it's me again - bad penny? Or good omen - I have always been a half full or more person.
I have a very good guy in LA who is running business building seminars and then one on one consulting. He was the youngest ever Creative Director of an ad agency in Australia and is very well known and highly thought of there. He built a very big multi-agency group and has effectively retired but he could not retire.
If you are interested I could hook you up.
He is godfather to my daughter if that gives you sufficient context
My business mantra to owners: make yourself redundant so you can work on, not in the business.

Haha I had to lookup the bad penny reference and I'm definitely using it going forward. Not a bad penny at all my friend, more like a welcomed guest!

I'm all about the philosophy of automating as much of your life as possible in order to maximize your time not doing work. I'd absolutely be interested in the connection and I appreciate you even offering. I'm not entirely sure what I'd be able to help him out with seeing as he's pretty much doing what I'm half-assed attempting to do here, but networking is never a bad option.

He cannot do it all himself! He has offsiders who fulfil aspects of the business mentoring. I hear you though. I thought it might look a bit random - I have a propensity to think that everyone thinks as I do about trust! If you want to look him up (nothing betrayed here, he is pretty well known) his name is Siimon Reynolds and his business is called the Fortune Institute. Yes, Siimon with two i's. His wife was quite a well known tv presenter in NY. Over to you! Let me know if I can assist in any way.

Holy shit, that guy is big business. He's kind of where I'd like to be in 10-20 years. My best bet here would be to work for him and learn from him and his colleagues. He'd be able to teach me way more than I'd probably be able to assist with his top tier work.

I concur! As I said, over to you! Anyone who has been involved in a billion dollar business at the Board level is going to have a few pearls of wisdom and you could probably do worse than him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62