Using Steem to Document My Business Journey

in #business7 years ago

The Push

Life as an entrepreneur is full of ups and downs.

And when you're starting out, it can feel like there's WAY more downs than ups.

But you keep pushing

Because deep down,

you know it's your destiny to build a business that changes lives.

At least, that's how I feel.

_hl=en&taken-by=angelahigbee.jpg

^^That's me 6 months into my first business

My Background

I've been self-employed for almost two full years now.

When I started out, it was to build an online content agency. I had no idea what I was doing as a business owner, and my lack of experience showed. Quickly.

12 months after our launch, the company failed due to cash flow issues.

I could have thrown in the towel. I could have looked at myself in the mirror and said, "that's it. I'm done with this 'live your dream' bullshit. I'm getting a job."

But I didn't.

Refusal and Realization

After being self employed for the better part of 2 years, I knew in my soul that entrepreneurship is my calling.

I knew that if I ignored my vision of building a company that could positively impact the lives of others,

I would never forgive myself.

So I refused to give up.

I refused to let the challenges of life stop me from achieving my dreams.

I focused on the great words of Les Brown: "it's not over, until I win."

But after losing my first business, it was time to get real with myself.

I had to accept that I failed because I wasn't good enough yet.

I wasn't good enough as a business owner, employer, visionary, or leader.

I didn't have a strong enough understanding about cash flow, sales projections, and business expenses.

I had to accept that for things to change, I had to change.

Moving on to Today

Today, I'm in the process of launching LoveThrift - an online thrift store that makes self expression through clothing more affordable for the every day person.

And I'm more focused than ever on processes, financial reporting, and improving sales without compromising inventory quality.

But as I go about building that business,

I realized I need an outlet - some way to share my experiences, celebrate my successes, and analyze (and overcome) my failures.

I don't know why, but Seemit just felt like the right place to create that outlet.

So, as of today, I'll be releasing weekly content about the ups and downs of my life as an entrepreneur -

and if my journey is an inspiration to just one other person,

not necessarily to be an entrepreneur, but simply to go after their dreams regardless of the apparent difficulty,

then I'll consider myself successful.

I hope you all join me on my journey. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65