You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sales Call from Yelp - How NOT to Engender Confidence in a Customer

in #business6 years ago

You can even make a marketing call interesting through your writing!

Has it ever happened that you actually found value in one of these calls? I usually just cut them off, say "no thank you", and hang up. I don't even listen to what they're selling.

Sort:  

Well, for me the value was getting access to the back-page with a password re-set. I started this job a few months after a predecessor left, and I'm constantly saying, "All right, where's the password for xyz social media account/email service/web-hosting back-end."

Beyond that, I mostly stayed on the line for anthropological reasons. It was kind of fascinating to hear how he'd been trained to take a reluctant business owner through his narrative.

It's like... have you ever been tempted to invite a Jehovah's witness in just to hear how they pitch their story?

I totally did that, me and a housemate of mine when I was studying, and opened a discussion with them, about atheism and all that. They looked out of their element, they didn't seem to understand anything that was being said, kept nodding politely till they were finally excused.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67