Current Hammock Set-Up

in #bushcraft7 years ago (edited)

Hammock camping has become super popular in recent years. It offers a lot of benefits, mainly stupid fast set up. When a co-worker told me about it, I thought it was the greatest concept since sliced bread! Long story short, I bought an Eno Double Nest and the rest is history. There was a problem however, I couldn’t get 100% comfortable. Since then, I’ve gone through several set ups, I'm still searching for that perfect iteration.

Last Iteration of my Eno.

Photo Nov 23, 8 49 11 AM.jpg

While this set up was the most efficient, it consisted of four items, it felt off (I know super descriptive). Frustrated, I was starting to consider going back to a tent, when a buddy told me about his 11 foot hammock from Little Shop of Hammocks. He suggested that my Eno may be too short, he gave me James's (the owner) contact info. After a long conversation with James I settled on an 11-foot Gravity hammock with cinch buckles, in my favorite camo pattern of course.

Hammock in its stuff sack.

Photo Dec 16, 3 07 35 PM.jpg

Initial set up.

Photo Dec 16, 3 11 08 PM.jpg

With Outdoor Vitals Mummy pod.

Photo Dec 16, 3 41 19 PM.jpg

And finally, with Flecktran under quilt cover.

Photo Dec 16, 3 47 31 PM.jpg

First let me say that there is a huge comfort increase in the longer hammock. Being over 6 feet tall, I can now do a proper diagonal lay. So far this has been the most comfortable body positioning for me. This hammock has a built in ridgeline, which keeps a consistent sag that you can tweak, making set up match faster. This is where I ran into my first issue, the mummy pod isn’t designed for a ridgelines, the Gravity is designed more for under quilts. Not a huge deal, just something to keep in mind. My fix for this will be para cord and two carbineers, stolen from my Eno, to make a removable ridgeline,easy fix. I still need to do more experimenting with the mummy pod to see weather or not I keep it, since it’s designed for more of a straight lay. We can discuss more details and any questions in the comments. Cutting this short as I tend to ramble lol. I’ll be posting any changes and tweaks to the set up here, for all to learn from.

SurvivingSlav

Sort:  

that looks so cozy and comfortable!!

Thanks, it's definitely better then the Eno. I'm still tweaking.

Great post... I think that would wreck my back .. I need to constantly roll to stay comfortable.

There is that, if you don't lay "correctly", the diagonal lay causes you to lay totally flat so the back is fine. My biggest problem has always been my knees, I have long legs so they tend to hyper extend.

Sleeping diagonally in the mummy pod do you notice that it forces you back parallel in the middle of the night or does it have enough flex to let you stay diagonal without any extra effort?

It does, but less so than the shorter Eno double.

Congratulations, you have received a free upvote from @bonds!

Bonds offers a hedge against volatility as well as paid upvote and reSTEEM services.

Bonds is not a bot- this is run by humans, for humans.

Check out our #introduceyourself post to find- out more- if you like the idea, like or reSTEEM it, and we all benefit.

Happy STEEMing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77