Bushcraft: Fire Pit RebuildsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bushcraft7 years ago

This past weekend while working on my shelter at basecamp I decided to move the fire pit. The main reason for the rebuild was to center up the fire in relationship to the platform to aid in heating up the shelter. I also added a fire reflector.

IMG-2381.JPG

I started by moving the hole itself. It only had to be moved about a foot. For the reflector, I sharpened four pieces of scrap pine to make it easier to drive them into the ground. Looking back at it, I should have charred the tips to help with rot.

IMG-2400.JPG

After most of the stones were in place I started stacking pieces of pine for the cross section.

IMG-2401.JPG

After finishing we started a fire to make dinner. Sitting on the platform you could definitely feel more heat. The reflector also aided with wind and smoke.

Sort:  

do you have a grate that you put over the fire, or a tripod? Wind can really be a stinker in camp. Being warm and cozy is always good. I have winter camped a few times and the fire is always very welcome. look forward to more of your posts from base camp

Yeah I do, I keep an grill plate there. Works really well considering it was free lol.
IMG-2392.JPG

I like the price tag! some one elses trash can be somebody elses glory. Re cycle at it's finest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74