Seats on the bus 🚌 💺 🤔

in #bus5 years ago

We really need a ratings system.

When I'm on the bus, and there aren't any open seats (meaning, I'd have to squeeze in next to someone), I elect to stand.

If we're honest with ourselves, we know that no one wants someone to sit next to them. They want to sit alone. So I accommodate this and stand.

To me, standing vs sitting next to someone are about the same. I'd provably a little bit rather sit, but knowing they don't want me there, I elect to stand.

The exception to this is if the bus is super crowded. In this case they're gonna end up with someone sitting next to them anyways, and it's also way less comfortable to stand as a sardine, and so the scales tip where sitting is better.

So I have to admit, I feel robbed when someone sits next to me in a spot where I wouldn't do the same to them.

"well.. well, some people aren't as physically fit, y'know.. it's not easy for everyone to stand"

Which is exactly why they have he reserved seats up front for the elderly and in need. If you can balk at those and walk to the back of the bus, then you can stand.

With a robust p2p ratings system, I could go down as one of the people who stands, and get some kind of value out of it. (Perhaps it would be in the form of an implied reciprocity to not sit next to me, and a demerit if you do).

Sort:  

I elect to stand.

A hero!

Sometimes I also think about these random little acts of common sense that obviously make things better for everyone and I wonder why we all can't just be like that, but then I realise -

The exception to this is...

The goddamn exceptions! They're what people exploit and what they justify their dumbness with. For example in this case it's hey, the bus is a little crowded, or, might get crowded, or I'm so tired its been a tough day, or etc etc

Human relationship is crazy and i think it all boils down to this: humans are dumb.

ahaha we aren't dumb tho, we smart and we trying.. just a little fuzzy right now.. technology and AI will keep getting better and tighten things up 😆

I feel like I actually shoulda titled this post "I elect to stand", woulda been sick

A hero!

tyy tyyyyy

🙇🙇

nice that I'm able to document these acts of greatness before the AI and the ratings systems get here.. in that world I'll just be self-interested and playing the game

we smart and...

Bleh.

"I elect to stand",

Yes! Good title for a book too.

I'll just be self-interested and playing the game.

Yes!!! Me and you both!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64