My experience(And failures) in mining Burstcoin

in #burstcoin7 years ago

A while ago I decided I wanted to do something with the extra storage space I had. One of my friends suggested trying Storj, and I did. uPnP completely failed to push through my router, so after some configuration I managed to connect to the network. Another friend was setting it up the same time I was, but he was getting stuff stored, and I wasn't. I left it running for around 14 hours, and I didn't get anything. So I just gave up on that.

After that I learned about Burst - The coin you mine with your HDD space. It interested me - so I decided to get it set up. First time, the wallet just refused to even open after I installed it. Like, it wouldn't do anything. So in the bin that idea went.

The next day, I decided to try again. This time, I actually managed to install and correctly set up the wallet. I was up and running... Except for the syncing. I knew the blockchain couldn't be that large, so I left it overnight. When I woke up, it had made 4 percent progress....Well clearly that wasn't going to work, so I found an alternative download for the blockchain. Downloaded, extracted and finally, I was up and running.

Burst has this weird thing where you must make a transaction to get your account activated, and you'd expect that there would be a faucet that would give a BURST or 2 to new users. Nope, such a thing does not actually exist. The solution - Beg on forums for coins. I write a post on BurstNation and I go to sleep. The next day, I open my wallet to see 10 BURST sitting in it. Finally, I would be able to start mining.

During the whole time, I've been slowly plotting more and more. I have a pretty bad CPU, and I've been unable to set up the GPU plotter. The first night, I decided to try and plot around 900 gigs. Of course, Windows had to update while it was plotting, runing the whole plan. The rest of the plotting part doesn't matter.

So, I find a pool, go through the complicated procedure to get the miner set up and.... Error. "Can't get mining info from wallet". It would never stop printing that. At that point I just decided to give up. I failed way too many times, and I was wasting too much of my own time, so I just dropped it.

Sort:  

Yeah i uninstalled StorJ, reinstalled it and it no longer was working on the same port so i just abandoned it.

Try minergate and bytecoin with pplns 1%. You get a decent amount of coins quite fast. its good for CPU MINING

The point is mining with a hard drive. If your using a cpu to mine then that completely removes the purpose of a hard drive mining.

I also particularly hate Minergate. Their profitability is way too low. I get way more by just GPU mining with Nicehash

WOW ! This is really good!
Didn't quite sink in until I went to the burst coin site.

Congratulations @radostin04! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @radostin04! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64