Burst - Building a fanless mining rigsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #burst6 years ago

The project

Create a small mining rig for burst.
The goal was to be very 'green' because Burst is supposed to be a green coin. Also I wanted it to be 100% silent.

The PC

As this is my first attempt, I went for a cheap barebone fanless pc: Hystou with celeron (2 cores) -> 140$
téléchargement (1).jpg

Advantage:

  • cheap
  • 0 noise
  • screw to fix it easily
  • 4x USB 3 ports
  • 4x USB 2 ports

Disadvantage:

  • slow
  • only 2 cores

Hard drives (to start... maybe more to come)

Bought 3 x 5TO external usb drives portable (110$ each):
téléchargement.jpg

Why external portable usb drive ?

  • no need external power supply (usb powered)
  • cheap
  • easy to resell or reuse later

Disadvantage:

  • veryyyyyy long to plot directly

The frame

Then I build a very simple wood frame... This could be far better but I am not a woodworker expert at all:
20180120_162909.jpg

I made it so that pc and hard drives have space all around to cool.

Final result

20180120_204016.jpg
20180120_204053.jpg

Notice the gap under the pc, to optimize cooling (cooling it done passively through the case)

The result is 100% silent (except hard drive, but you really need to have your ear very close to hear them).

For the moment I plugged 2 x 5 TO + 1 x 1TB hard drive.
At the moment it's already mining 7 TB of burt and some storj easily.
I will publish the mining result in a few weeks, when I have more data to share.

Conclusion

Very happy so far. Still need to plot more drives to see the max capacity it can scan. Also I am already planning some improvement for the next version (more cpu cores, better frame etc.).

If you have questions / suggestions feel free to comment.

Please share if you like ;)

Sort:  

nice information . I love burst one of most undervalued crypto as we all know mcafee tweeted about it. happy mining cheers

Dude, I am not going to lie. This looks absolutely amazing. Definitely keep us posted on hashes and whatnot :)

This is interesting, I would love to hear about the results on this. Keep us posted

How hot does it get with use? Is burst like storj, paying for storage that you let people use?

No burst is just a coin. It get a little hot, but not very much. I will put this in my next post on results (temperature, consumption, mining results)...

I definitely want to know mining results. If the ROI isn't too long, might make one of my own, got some extra hard drives lying around collecting dust. Might as well make some money from them.

storj is disk space minning, did you really need a new computer for it? Can't you just connect the storage device to any old laptop? Or is it using CPU/GPU too, or is BURST the one heating it up?

I don't "need" to do it that way. Of course you can plug an old laptop, but it will make noise and have more electricity consumption than my solution. But if you happened to have a old laptop it's certainly is a good solution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56