Burst Coin Mining and the streses of plotting drives

in #burst7 years ago

I added 10+ TB to one of my Ehtereum rigs to mine Burst Coin. I started with one 4 TB USB drive and started the deadly 1 week plotting. I think watching paint dry is better then waiting for the plotting to complete. At 70% completed, I accidentally unplugged the USB hub power supply and boom plotting stopped and I could not recover. Now, I'm 51 years old and I immediately aged 5 years after this happened and I didn't think I had it in me to start over. So, I did decide to try again but this time I used GPU plotter and I have to say that was less painful and only took about 2 days. The draw back is that the plots are not optimized and get slower DL and confirmations. In comes the new 4 TB drive and I go straight for the plotter built in to the Burst Coin Wallet to plot. This will optimize at the same time as it plots. It's been 3 days now and I'm at 62%. I'm not even going to look at the machine until its done plotting. Can't afford to lose another 5 years of life. Meanwhile, I plotted smaller internal drives 2 X 1TB and 250 GB external in a dock. I have been mining for about 2 weeks and mined around 250 burst. Not as much as I expected. I think I will need to optimize the first 4 TB drive to get better results. In order to optimize you need another drive with equal or greater size to optimize. Maybe its better to re-plot with with the original plotter and go through the week of pins and needles. I don't know if I can take the stress. Joking aside, I'm looking forward to seeing if there's any real money in POC mining. I will update in about another week.

Sort:  

Update - Finished final 4 TB of plotting. I split the 4 TB into two partitioned drives. GPU plotted the first 2 TB and then optimized to the second partition. When that was done I plotted the remaining 2 TB with the wallet plotter for about 3 days. Now all is good and mining about 20 - 30 burst coins a day. Let's see what happens in a months time.

Congratulations @thailandlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81