SO YOU THINK YOU WILL JUST INSTALL BURST WALLET AND MINE?

in #burst7 years ago (edited)


Oh I wish!

It is actually kinda complicated, but hey - more coins for minority of people who didnt lose hope. I am in the process of plotting my HDDs right now and that will take a while so I will tell you my experiences with the Burst coin now.

So first of, what is Burst? It is cryptocurrency that uses the unique algorithm called Proof of Capacity (POC), which utilizes your unused hard disk drive space instead of your processor or graphics card to mine BURST. Miners pre-generate individual chunks of data known as 'plots' which are then saved to disk. This individual data just proofs your capacity and is never sent to anyone else. Traffic requirements for mining are therefore extremely low.

That sounds great!

Lets download the wallet here: https://www.burst-team.us/index.php/wallets

There are wallets for Windows, Linux, Android and more. It is everywhere!

Oh the wallet - In my opinion it is horrible. It never works and is always crashing. Maybe the problem is that it is still downloading the blockchain, but still. It should not crash every second. And you need Java for the wallet to work properly.

After install you can choose local or online wallet. You will then copy the passphrase and save it somewhere. If you choose local wallet as I did, you should download the blockchain by yourself from the official site as it would take a year to download it inside the wallet!

This is a classic view for me! Wallet not responding!



But after you log-in it looks kinda nice

Now you have to plot your HDDs.

Do you really think it will take like an hour and then you can mine Burst?

Haha, of course not!

A 5TB external hard drive could take potentially more than few days to plot.

This cryptocurrency is really not for weaklings.

So you click to write plots and this screen will show up.

I give you advice though. If you want to plot 5TB HDD you should plot 1TB five times as there is less chance something bad happen and having more plots on one HDD does not reduce your mining speed or anything.

Then you see it working in the background and It will tell you when it is over. If I am not mistaken, you can close it and it will know where to continue so you will not lose your progress! So that is good!




Good luck!

I will be back after all the plotting and tell you more about the mining...

If my head doesnt explode!



Thanks!
Follow me for more @eirik
steembb.jpg

Sort:  

One of the easiest coins to mine... And one of the best wallets, especially the new AIO from lex. You aren't even using the newest version of the wallet. It will not take a year to sync the chain. And no, you can't stop plotting in the middle, it has to be finished after you start it. Otherwise it'll get fucked up. Get your facts straight. >.< How in the hell is it so hard? It is as simple as download and mine, just takes time.

Is the newest version on the official site? If not, they should put it there.

The problem that it was always crashing was because of not synced blockchain. As soon I have put downloaded db to the files, it worked perfectly.

Yes, you can actually stop plotting in the middle. If you have plotschecker it will help you out.

It is not that difficult, you are right, but it is hard to do anything with the wallet when it is always crashing. But after like 14 hours of me working with Burst, I am feeling pretty good with the coin and the wallet.

Thanks for the reply!

Yeah sorry I woke up on the wrong foot. I actually wasn't aware of the plotschecker. But yeah that's the updated " old version " of the wallet. I've never had a problem with the wallets crashing, running on several machines and OSes. If that doesn't work for you, use one of the online wallets, you won't need a synced chain to mine on a pool anyway. The new lex AIO wallet has multiple online wallets built in with other nice crap. Burst is a great coin :)
They are on the site: https://postimg.org/image/503t4wbph/

The wallet works fine. The problem was with the blockchain still downloading and syncing. It is not happening anymore.

Are you mining Burst? Looks like I will not get anything cheaper than 30 dollars per TB. But I think it is still okayish.

Yeah I've been mining burst for a few months. Burst was hovering below 100 satoshis when I started getting familiarized. And now in the past couple days it's been above 600, so just HODL , it'll usually pay off :) I haven't really invested that much into the hardware just used what I had lying around, as it doesn't really require computing power. So simply added burst to my other rigs.

Haha yes, it took me 3days to plot a 3tb, used to be a trick to use amazon drive and google drive for plotting =P

Please help! i am trying to mine burst is there a way where i can avoid downloading the whole blockchaine? does the new beta have the blockchain already in it? i am pretty new to this. thanks

To mine burst you don't need to be synced with the blockchain. Plus you can have online account if you want.

Also there are some files that can help you with the synchronization. Doing it through the application can take a really long time.

i have figured it out:) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58