Sock Making Project - Mission Accomplished : 27 January 2024

in #burnsteem258 months ago

I finished the socks a couple of days ago. They took a bit over the 4 days I thought they'd take - I only knit when I have some spare time and also the dark colour I chose made it a bit tiring to knit for too long.


image.png

It was such a buzz to finish them and try them on. They actually fit 'like a glove'; in fact, next time I may use 62 or 64 stitches rather than 60 stitches. They are currently a bit snug but the other pair I knitted last year got rather loose so I tried to 'future-proof' my knitting.

The photo below shows you the main issue I had. I actually missed this loop and only noticed it when I took the photo. It shouldn't cause any problem but I have to say I had to be really careful to pick up the three strands of the yarn together for every single stitch. I'll choose a lighter colour and will consider a different type of yarn next time.


image.png

The whole sock knitting process is very interesting. There are many ways of knitting socks top-down or toe-up and different types of heels as well : shadow wrap, heel flap and gusset, after-thought heel amongst others.

Then if you knit your sock top-down you will at some point to finish the toe section by choosing different styles : anatomic toes, umbrella toes, and some will include Kitchener stitch the toe end.


image.png

I didn't take close-ups but I had to use that Kitchener stitch for grafting the remaining 10 stitches for the front and 10 stitches for the 'sole' side of the toes. You can find a very clear tutorial here. The main reason why I liked this tutorial was the use of a 'mnemonic rhyme' to learn the right order of steps to follow.

Thank you for reading !

( All the photos are mine. The background again looks a bit 'yellow' because of the lack of light, but the paper behind the socks was actually white. I tried to straighten the sides of the photos but probably not that successfully).

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hermosos calcetines, me encantaron muchísimo. Un trabajo bastante laborioso y entretenido. A pesar qje le llevó más tiempo del planificado, valió la pena el esfuerzo por tan excelente resultado.

Muchas gracias por compartir.

Saludos y bendiciones 😇

¡Feliz noche! 🙌

Thank you for the comment @gabylazarde. I'm very happy with the result and it encourages me to make another pair.

Que bueno, me alegra bastante.

Que tenga un bendecido dia junto a su familia 🙏

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post
@flowertron

You have received a 100% upvote, resteem and a feature in our latest blog discoveries post!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

With love from...

bbbbbbbbb.png

Those do indeed look very cuddly and warm @flowertron!!!

Admittedly, I have literally never finished ANYTHING I ever started knitting in my life lol - It was never really my strong point because I am a lefty.

My school knitwork teacher used to get so frustrated and angry with me because she struggled to teach me everything the other way around haha! My mom was also right handed... so needless to say it was never really something I took to. I did however grow a great love for cross stitch at one point in my life.

Do you knit a lot of stuff?

ps. Your photos look fine!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65