Sewing : Three options - 29 July 2024

in #burnsteem255 days ago

Sometimes I find myself scrolling YouTube and just because I’ve visited some sewing tutorials, I later get offered more of the same. Those who make the algorithms must exclaim ‘gotcha!’ I don’t mind; sometimes it’s very helpful. I also feel that at least I’m learning something. Yesterday and today I’ve particularly homed in on methods to ‘enlarge jeans’. My friend, who I’m making the shorts for, also asked me for some urgent help as she’s bought second-hand jeans on Vinted. Because she’s bought ‘second hand’ returning is not an option.

The jeans sort of fitted her but were rather tight. I’m not sure how much she paid for these ‘kick flare’ jeans, but I can guarantee it wasn’t £35, around 210 Steem.
She particularly liked the all over pink bow design:


image.png
All over Bow Design.

I have therefore abandoned everything and started looking into ‘my saved tutorials on the topic’. Below I will cover three of them :

The first option above recommends adding an upside down triangle to the side. The tutorial is clear but there's no talking; there is however jolly background music. This possible option is okay for some occasions but in my friend’s case, she wants the jeans to be much wider so a triangular answer is not enough.

The second option is good and offers many possibilities for colour blocking, but it’s beyond my current skills and resources, especially access to same colour or other types of jeans to cut up. Most crucially though my friend would lose part of her beloved all over pink bow design. I like the presentation of this channel though : I think she explains the steps very clearly and enthusiastically. She also explains why she chooses some options. In contrast to the previous tutorial, having someone talking and explaining is a must.

The third option is to some extent what I will be attempting. The person adds a long wide side strip and then takes some in to adjust the jeans legs. I'll certainly use a strip but I'm not sure I’ll want to then take some fabric in, I appreciate that adding a strip of fabric to the sides will change the shape and fit of the jeans though. I reckon my friend will have to eventually decide how we do it.


image.png

The photo above shows you the jeans I’m already working on with the famous pink bows that stole my friend’s heart. The photo shows how I’ve undone the side seam and stopped that at the waistband. I reckon I’ll need to cut there.


image.png

The photo above shows how I’m going to add a strip of denim cut from the legs of an old pair of similar colour denim. It doesn’t look that impressive in the photo but I’m hoping it will all work.

I’ll continue working now as there’s lots to do here.

Thank you for reading !

Sort:  

Mucha suerte con ese corte, espero que todo te quede bien y tu amiga quede satisfecha...!

¡Saludos y un fuerte abrazo!

Thank you @casv ! I hope so too 😬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51