Bee Rescue : 5 April 2024

in #burnsteem254 months ago (edited)

We went to take a couple of things out to store in the shed as we’re trying to tidy up the place a bit and trapped in the shed was this bumble bee.


image.png

As you can see from the photo it was not in a very good way. There’s a lot of dust on its back and one of its hind legs seemed to be out of place.

Nature will take its course but I couldn’t just let it happen without some ‘human interference’. I rushed back into the house and got the last bit of honey from a jar (we need to buy some more). I scraped some honey with a small coffee stirrer I found in a drawer (it’s not a lolly stick) and rushed out again to check on the bumble bee. I get the feeling that it enjoyed some sweet honey.

At the time I didn’t get the chance of ‘googling’ the proper thing to do. Now I’ve found some answers here. You can just make a 50/50 sugar solution; they don't recommend honey as a course of action because it may contain pathogens.

I did my best. I read as well that it can take up to 45 minutes for the exhausted bee to rest and fly away again. I went to check up on it about 3 hours later and it was not there. I choose to believe that it recharged its energy level and flew away towards some flowers.

Some time ago I remember seeing these bee revival kits. I think I’ll get one and carry it with me when I go out just in case - it’s quite pricey so I may put it on my wish list for the time being.

Thank you for reading !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74