Game Review - Cat and Soup

in #burnsteem252 years ago

Cat and Soup is a very cute idle game by a company called Hidea, which came out on September 15, 2021.

image.png
(image taken from: the Google Play store)

It is a free "idle game" (with in game spending available) which is also known as a clicker game, or an "incremental" game, a type of video game which involves a lot of grinding, or completing tasks and clicking the screen a lot - these tasks that need completing are usually quickly done by simply clicking on the action a lot. These tasks are completed to earn in game currency and rewards!

I had heard about this game a little while ago while scrolling through social media, I thought it looked very cute and I was drawn to the relaxing nature and overall art style of the game. So I decided to download it too!!!

image.png
(My game screenshot).

You start off in an empty area, with a little cat who is stirring some soup. The little tutorial is very helpful and straight forward as there aren't really any complicated things to do! For each bowl of soup completed (which are shown at the bottom of the screen- I didn't get it in my screenshot though) you earn coins, and using these coins you can buy more cats who do different tasks, or even little outfits for them!!!

image.png
(My screenshot while playing the game).

You are also able to see when a new cat has arrived! I love that each cat looks different, with various colours and fur patterns. It is very endearing.

image.png
(Another in game screenshot of mine).

This is when I got to a point where I had collected a good amount of cat! Each cat is doing a little task such as: peeling lettuce, stirring soup and cutting carrots. There are also little areas for a cat to rest (the hammock), a treasure chest (for goodies every so often) and the one at the bottom in the middle, which I can't really figure out what it's for yet...

image.png
(In game screenshot again)

I really loved how it looked at night- the game has its own night and day cycle instead of following the clock on your device- I think this is good as it doesn't limit any activities due to the night and day cycle.

I think this is a really great game, the game doesn't stop when the app is closed, therefore the cats will continue to make process for in game currency while you are not playing. I also think it is very relaxing, perhaps a game you could play to wind down or relax when you are stressed. I am also always very fond of games that let you customise and dress up your characters- I think it makes it a more personal experience!

The only downsides, in my opinion, is that it can get a little boring at times, and it's hard to play it for longer than 10 minutes at a time as the game mechanics are very repetitive. It also heavily relies on the player watching ads to then gain more coins or other in game items- which can be a little annoying, luckily the ads aren't too long though.

image.png

I did a little drawing inspired by the game, it's a cat wearing a party hat stirring some soup! I didn't draw any particular breed of cat, I was just playing around with colours, I like the white pattern on the fur looks like a white cat!

I would really recommend this game to anyone who wants to play something quiet, peaceful, simple and relaxing.

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54