A to Z in Food: Apples!

in #burnsteem2510 months ago

image.png

I wanted to start this little "A-Z in foods" series where I turn some foods, while going through the alphabet, into little characters!

With this first one I decided to turn an apple into a character :)

It all started while I was doodling in a café...

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I knew I wanted to go with more simple character designs that mostly focus on the shape of the fruit, I wanted to add little details :) I also wanted to make them look a little cheeky and silly because I thought it would be cute!

Instead of creating a character using a full apple, I went with a half cut apple because I wanted to include the apple seeds as a nose! I also used the apple leaves to make a little fringe for them :)

I went with a more muted colour palette instead of a super vibrant one! Mostly because when I have super red apples I always find them too sweet to eat, so I prefer the more relaxed colours of them.

After doodling this in the café, I decided to refine my drawing using Procreate on my iPad.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I traced my traditionally sketched drawing using a stabilized fine liner brush in Procreate. I like using stabilisation because my hands are a bit shaky and I like the smooth lines.

I lay down the block colours before adding some shading into it, I try and add minimal shading and smaller details as I wanted my design to look a bit simple!
...

Here is the finished drawing :D

image.png

Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14