Dealing with the Late Summer Blues and Burning MansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #burningman6 years ago

Yeah, it is that time of year. The time of year before Burning Man. For me, this time is hard because everybody that you enjoy going is hyping and enjoying the Burn. The missing out depression is beginning to get home.

But when you work for small business, taking a whole week off work to attend Burning Man is a hard thing. You know never know when something pops that your boss needs your immediate attention. Also, it was extremely hot at Burning Man and I remember that everybody, I mean everybody was bitching about it.

When it came to ticket day, those two things were on my mind. And I got in the line for the tickets but I did not go to any lengths to get tickets that day. Staying home just to get tickets was probably that I should have done. But I did not and did not

And tickets for premium. I mean real premium. So I never tried to get one. I just did want to deal with the heat and more importantly the anxiety of me being gone from my job for a week. I overthink things a lot and I mean a lot. I take great care in making decisions because I do not want to deal with the extreme overthinking that goes in my head.

So with that decisions comes this time of year. And comes that feelings of sadness of not sharing in that collective memory called Burning Man.

But I am somebody who takes adulting very serious. I do need the vacation time to do adult things that I need to get done like go to the DMV to get my driver's license (which can be an all day affair), get a physical, or go to the dentist. Plus I have other weekend trips that come in the fall, winter, and spring.

In reality, mid to late August is probably my least favorite time of year. It is hot and all of your friends are partying in the desert and you are not. I am actually looking forward to the post-burn season for things like Youtopia, Venice/LA Decom, Thanksgiving, Christmas (12 days of NA), I want to Arizona and spend Thanksgiving with my Uncle Mike/Sandy. My parents are going being home more which I spend more time with the dog. And of course, it is not too damn hot.

And course there is football on all of the time. And baseball gets good as well because it is close to the World Series (sad that the Angels are not contention, that would be good thing).

It is just dealing with rotten feelings during a time of a year that I dislike the most. Yeah, and feelings know how to mess with you

Sort:  

Congratulations @lescrivens! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lescrivens! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50