My Burning Man Experience Part 1: Getting there

in #burningman6 years ago

I've never experienced more innovation or inspiration in one place before.

About two weeks before That Thing in the Desert (2015) started I was sitting at home without a ticket, or enough money to cover expenses from North Carolina. I did have the internet though, which as it turns out is all I needed.

I found a ticket begging thread which led me to a BlueGrass camp that was located in NC. One of the camp leaders needed someone to drive a 26 foot boxtruck and giant flamethrowing banjo in exchange for expenses & transportation and a reduced price ticket IMG_0351.JPG.

I ended up driving this thing + a box truck full of stuff more than 2500 Miles from NC to NV. No cruise control, 5 different co-pilots from all over the world and dozens of truck stops. When we finally made it I was so excited to have actually made it.

I arrived during build week which was interesting because I got to see what the empty desert looks like. Each day I watched the place slowly materializing and was amazed at how everything there was brought in and would need to be brought out (or burned)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41