The Old Dog Recounts: He Took on A Huge Government Institution and Won! or Beware of Persnickety Pensioners!

in #bureaucracy8 years ago (edited)

Man has always been fascinated by the victory of underdogs. David verses Goliath or Gandhi against the political establishment are epic battles in which the little guy won against seemingly impossible odds! 

My Dad is more tenacious than any dog on any bone. When he has something in mind he's as hard headed and as big a stickler as any man you're ever likely to meet. Although he's now 95 years old not much has changed.

Sometimes those qualities can be very frustrating and irritating to his family but in the battle he waged with Canada Post he needed them and how! That's him below a few years ago at the age of 91!


 

Would you Like to Know The Details of This Epic Battle?

As most of you likely know, a huge portion of the mail that arrives at our homes from the Mail Service is so-called junk mail. Thirty years ago, when his battle started, there was no provision for home owners to refuse unaddressed mail. 

Flyers, free "newspapers", little stuffed envelopes and the like filled up my Dad's mail box and he was vexed! You don't want to light a fire under a retired stickler because he's got nothing but time to wage his battles! Both Canada Post and The Canadian Government were about to find this out!

The First Stages of The Battle Plan!

He put up a sign on his mailbox that said "PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE UNADDRESSED MAIL". The Post office said they would leave it anyway because they were paid by their clients to do so. The battle lines were now drawn. Little did they know with whom they were dealing! He started a campaign of many phone calls and he wrote many letters. Once again all to no avail!

  • Would he give up? 
  • Would you have given up? 
  • What was he going to do? 
  • What would you have done?

A Thorough Battle Plan of Attrition Was Then Conceived and Executed!

Don't forget what I warned you! Never mess with a retired stickler that has plenty of time on his hands!

My Dad made use of a little known provision. In Canada, you can send mail to many different entities at the Canadian Parliament in Ottawa without paying for postage!

Dutifully, every week, week after week, month after month, year after year my Dad would put every piece of junk mail into envelopes, address them to members of parliament and mail them off. He did this for over 10 years! 

In the meantime he continued to put up a sign on his mailbox, call and send letters to his local post office, tell the mailman that he didn't want junk mail and write to his local member of parliament! 

Canada Post and The Canadian Government Changed The Law!

Finally the law was changed and now if you put a sign on your mail box that you don't want unaddressed mail delivered the postal carrier must comply!

Of course I can't say with certainty that my dad was responsible for this change but he sure would have driven me to make the needed adjustments!

Points to Ponder

  • Do you know any hard headed sticklers?
  • Are hard headed sticklers sometimes needed?
  • Would a man like that drive you crazy?


I hope that you enjoyed reading about how a persnickety pensioner drove a huge government institution to change!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

I thought this man had family traits and maybe even some of the same character... ;) This is a good story and a good example of persistence when the cause is right and just for all. Canada Post clients might have been deceived by the change in the law, but it is we the people who are sponsoring Canada Post in the first place. Our rights have in this regards have precedents over the industry and deserve to be respected. Good for him, good for us all!

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Miseur @eric-boucher, it is always great to read your comments. Your a big supporter of this platform!

It is a pleasure and your words are really appreciated too, thank you! Your extra goodness donation is also equally appreciated and motivating. Namaste :)

I have a new hero on my Wall of Fame! I'm like your dad in one respect...I never give up, it's not in my genetic makeup (whatever that is). I had it put to me a little differently by my friend Joey T's dad...Never fuck with an old man, we never get laid anymore and have nothing left to live for!

Tenacity certainly does come in handy!

Hahaha! Your last statement should be printed on a T-Shirt.

It probably is...if not, be my guest! I had a shirt once that said: No I Can't Make Your Wife Disappear

Wow, very persistant! For a good cause, though! I hate unaddressed mail. Here in the Netherlands, you can just request a sticker from government to put on your mailbox, saying you don't want commercial leaflets, unaddressed newspaper, or neither. It was one of the first things I got when I moved in.

What a waste of trees and money!

Yes, I think that many places now allow the sticker! Thanks so much for coming I appreciate it!

Great story!

  • "Do you know any hard headed sticklers?"
    Yes, some, myself for example. :) (Actually I also argued with many companies to stop sending me advertising and succeeded.)

  • "Are hard headed sticklers sometimes needed?"
    Sometimes they are very important to change something as also your story proves.

  • "Would a man like that drive you crazy?"
    That could happen ... depending on the topic ... :)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks, very nice gesture. :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer the questions!

Wow! It sounds like his persistence was a large factor in them changing the law! He sounds like quite a character! We just take our "junk mail" and use it as fire starter!

He's he fought a big fight. I know that you also enjoy your fires!

Your dad is really a Super Dad! Great example for everyone, thanks for share ! ^_^

Yes he's definitely different!

Great story and example for all!

Thanks so much!

What a great example!!! 10 years! Now that is something to write home about. Most people I dare say would not take the first step to stop that junk mail. I'm so inspired by that persnickety pensioner. Sometimes those things that drive those close to us crazy, are the things that society really needs a good dose of. Good for him and good for everyone who has benefitted from his (seemingly) dedicated service. Just think of all the trees he may have saved!

I have called and called, joined on-line refusals and such over the years. Of course, to little or no avail. When I was receiving paper bills in the mail, they, of course, would send a load of advertisements and extra junk within the bill. So I would write out my check and include all their junk mail (including the original envelope) back in the envelope and return it to them. I don't think it ever actually stopped them from sending it to me, or anyone else for that matter, but for the time being, made me feel better.

Now I know that all they would do is throw it out, so I've gone into composting mode to help compensate for their waste. And actually, there have been times recently that receiving junk mail, in comparison to the other mail I received, was such a delight. I suppose it is all a matter of perspective!!

Thanks again for a post worth a dialogue @kus-knee!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

AWE, I received the bone and am grateful for your support!!! I am also grateful for the opportunity to share and exchange perspective with you. Thank you for your presence here on Steemit. Your positive interaction brings great value to this community. Sending you infinite blessings @kus-knee!!

I see that you care about so many important things and that you take action. You are much to be admired!

I'm really grateful that you offer up some things to discuss. Even the simple things are worth consideration as a shift in perspective can change everything! Thanks for your acknowledgement. I'm always stoked to exchange with you @kus-knee.

Very good post...thank you @kus-knee.upvote.greets

I really appreciate that!

Rofl! 10 years stuffing envelopes for MPs! So good!

I don't think I have your dad's level of patience, or impatience should I say? Pretty impressive! Got a good story anytime I see one of those signs now!

Tell your dad thanks for us!

Yes, there aren't too many like him! Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72