Budo Reset 4: Bujinkan Membership Cards

in #bujinkan6 years ago


From https://www.rojodojo.com What is the deal with Bujinkan Membership cards? This year is different because Hatsumi Sensei changed the rules. You can’t buy one from me, but you can earn it! But first, I explain what Bujinkan membership is and the rules of the Bujinkan.

Next, I cover what the Japanese text on the back of the Bujinkan membership card says. I did this to understand how I might change the meaning. This is part of my design process.

I also share how and why I ordered a Japanese 判子 hanko or seal. This is used to stamp or sign the document. Mine says 紅蓮道場 Guren dōjō.

I explain how Hatsumi Sensei considers these Bujinkan membership cards to be like an おまもり omamori. They are a symbol of the relationship between teacher and student. This connection goes both ways.

To express this sentiment, I decided to use 包む tsutsumu to wrap the cards. This captures the kokoro that reflects nature. This is done with a simple origata.

The money for the Bujinkan memberships is supposed to support the administration of the Bujinkan Honbu dojo in Japan. It is NOT supposed to end up completely in the pockets of the Dai Shihan! Hatsumi Sensei stated this clearly, but I’m not sure everyone was listening.

He also told us that NOT to sell Bujinkan membership cards on the internet! He told us that it should only be done in person. Teacher to student.

People who don’t have Bujinkan membership cards are not Bujinkan members! This also shows a lack of respect for Hatsumi Sensei, the Dai Shihan, and the tradition of the Bujinkan. I encourage every student to maintain these important connections with their teachers.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54