How to Attain Self-Awareness

in #buiseness7 years ago

Self-awareness is great a compass in life

It could guide us in our decisions
It could direct us on your path
It could most importantly show us where not to go

I am making this post today because I was asked by a friend
how was I so "lucky" to be self-aware

This really shocked me
I just didn't really get him
how could you not know what you
like,
love,
stand for,
believe in,
or appreciate?

How could my friend not know these things?

Well as kept thinking
I realized what being self-aware really meant.

Being self-aware means KNOWING YOUR VALUES

What do you really care about most?
The Environment?
Health?
Art?
Music?
Money?
Free time?
Time with family?
Time at the beach?
Clothes and Fashion?

The list of categories goes on...

But really?
what really matters to you most?

I know he didn't have his values in order by just looking at his vision board

It was filled with fancy cars, houses, yachts, and watches
and I know my friend
he doesn't know shit about cars
doesn't care about high fashion
and well we've been on a boat together so maybe he likes boats

but the point is he doesn't know himself because he hasn't asked himself
what matters most to him

Once you think about that
and really get your ego out the way
to answer this
you can come up with an answer that is not based on others finally accepting you
but you finally accepting yourself

accepting the fact that you are great without having to anything, but what you care about most

so please if you want more guidance by being more self-aware
make a list of values that matter most to you

push that need of being rich and famous so you could finally feel important aside
let your true inner values come out
and let them guide you,
let them guide you to the riches within
of fulfillment, happiness, and fearlessness

Thanks,
Hope that helps.

Sort:  

Thanks for the insight. A value list is super important in self awareness. I agree completely

@seanmartin Your welcome! Do you have an idea where your values lie?

I do my friend thank you. My value system is based on honor. And the tree grows from there. I am always checking in with myself to see what changes and what feelings are going on. But as long as i say in my honor its a great starting point

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42