Do you like Stick Bugs? I DO!

in #bugs6 years ago

thumbnail_20180715_102731_resized.jpg


Check out this alien creature I found today!


thumbnail_20180715_102701_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20180715_102044_resized.jpg


One of the coolest critters you see around these parts are the Walking Sticks, or Stick Bugs. This one was actually pretty big. This one was most likely a female. Female stick bugs can get rather big. In fact, I've seen them around a foot long before. This one was around 6 inches or so. Still big enough to get these amazing photos.

This is actually my first stick bug of the season. Or this year at least. I remember I used to see a lot of these in Arkansas. Now just one or two here and there. I'm shocked I don't see more of these around. So I was happy to come across this big guy. These bugs are so cool! They kind of tickle if you let them crawl on you.


As always, I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!
thumbnail_20180715_103313_resized.jpg
PROOF of Walking Stick

Stay Un-Tune-Ed


Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

They creep me out some but still very cool bugs.

The coolest bug, well next to mantis

howdy there Rainbow Man! hey those things really get to be a foot long?? jeez wouldn't you like to see one of those come along. I hadn't seen those here until yesterday in fact, there was one on the bottom of the pool. wild lookin but pretty cool.

Howdy Jonboy! Maybe I was exaggerating a little bit. More like 9 or 10 inches long but close enough! The females will get fat too before they lay their eggs. But yeah if they are big enough they look like they are a foot long. Giant insects do still exist.

ha yeah, 9 or 10 inches is still gigantic, it would be great to find some that big and do a post about it!

We get lots of these fellas around here :) and I agree with @ihashblox, mantis's are the kewlest. I had a family of them living in one of my medicinal plants last summer :)
Speaking of getting rarer though, one thing I hardly ever see nowadays, that there used to be plenty of are dragonflys.
Peace.

I'd have to agree Bob. I see Dragonflies, but not lots of them. What I have been seeing a lot of are dead butterflies. The same butterflies as the one that I posted pictures of. I almost started taking pictures of them all I've seen so many and then make a post about it. If I keep seeing them you can count on it!

Ok, something I've been wondering about: down in Colombia they tell me these are poisonous! Maybe its just a different species, but their common name translates as 'horse-killers'! (matacaballos). Have you ever heard of such a thing?

No I haven't head of such a thing @ecoinstant. Interesting though. It is like they say Grand Daddy Long Leg spiders are the most venomous but they can't bite you so you don't have to worry about them.

What kind of stick bugs do you have down in Colombia? If you find some make a post. I'm sure they are cool! I just know these bugs are harmless and fun to play with. Amazingly enough I rarely see these bugs anymore these days. Madagascar has some weird alien stick bugs so it wouldn't surprise me if some of these bugs were indeed poisonous.

I'm doing a bit of research, and it is indeed by specie - there is one in the southwest US that shoots an acidic foam, according to this. I will definitely try to get some shots and more information! Thanks for the motivation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69