What is it worth?

in #budget7 years ago

I’ve recently begun searching for answers to the endless throve of stuff I have in storage. I pay every month for the stuff to be kept. And every month I live without the stuff. How crazy am I? I’ve lived through the most upsetting times without the stuff. The stuff just lay there… bubble-wrapped and boxed, with no care of my financial woes, my emotional turmoil and my health issues. There’s a beautiful, blue, midcentury, vase that I cling to, and a little figure of Shakespeare that crowned my bookshelf for years. The glorification of my home was dependent on the cleverness of the stuff I accumulated, the “eye” I had for rarity and the impeccable taste shown by the carefully-arranged-haphazardness of objet d’art. The effortlessness in the layering of the sofa and the coffee table with just the right books and throws and cushions were to impress and to comfort and to help me through my journey of stuff collecting. The house-worshiping that has lead me to this emptiness I feel now, the years of fruitless accumulations! I have nothing but stuff. How sad. How awfully sad.
I’ve now realized that the journey was so necessary, so vital for me, as it taught me these few, life changing, philosophies:

• Stuff is just money collecting dust.
• Stuff is like comfort food; it gives you a superficial sense of well-being.
• Stuff is the trap that keeps you in slavery - Slavery is your job… always paying you just enough to keep you there for another month, never enough for you to reach independence.
• Know your worth at all times, including your stuff. The item you bought ten years ago may be worth more now. Perhaps your old shuffle could still fetch some dough? Never give the stuff away, it brought you into bondage, so it must buy you out of it as well.
• Balance your stuff in your personal balance sheet, stuff is an asset, do stock take.

Sort:  

Congratulations @loosh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32