A Feed Layout That Focuses on Content Discovery

in #budget6 years ago

content-discovery-socialtimes-com2.jpg
One of the major problems on steemit is content discovery. Finding valuable posts takes a lot of time, searching and luck. This is the number one complaint I've had from the people I convinced to join steemit. "There is nothing interesting to me on there" or "all the posts are just about steemit." I too had the same complaints until I learned how to dig deeper and eventually find the things that interested me buried under everything else.

Most, if not all, social media platforms have very sophisticated algorithms to try to get the most targeted content in front of each user. This makes it a great user experience for the content consumer. The more consumers we get, the more value for the creators. This creates a virtuous cycle that I think we help take steem to the next level!

I have been developing an algorithm that would take into account voting habits, followers, and favorite tags to find content that would otherwise go unnoticed. I have built a proof-of-concept that I have been testing and the results have been amazing! I have discovered many more posts that I really enjoyed that I otherwise would never have seen.

I explain more how it works in this post. I have made some updates sinse then, but this is the original idea.

Unfortunately, I do not have the skills to make this available to everyone. I need someone who knows how to code that could help me to build this. I'm thinking it could simply be an extension that would run on top of steemit.com like @steem-plus.

I do not know exactly how much it would cost because I'm not sure how much work it would take, but If I could get enough to have someone look it over with me we can determine how much work it would be and we can decide on how much we would need going forward. I would think that a few hundred dollars would be plenty to talk someone into doing this.

I would do it for free but I have reached the end of what I am currently capable of doing. I am teaching myself but it is slow progress so if we have to pay someone to help me get it done, I think it would greatly enhance the user experience for everyone.

I'm sorry if I did this proposal wrong, I am still fairly new. Doing a proposal was recommended to me after I wrote my initial post. Let me know if I need to change anything.

Sort:  

Sounds like you are onto something. I would help if i could but have little to no computer skills.
As far as i know there is work in progress to set up communities similar to subbreddits which will help people find a lot more specific content. I know from my first forays into steemit that it takes a lot to get noticed as most people cannot see what you are doing.
I think this will help.

Joe thank you for thinking about how to help us! Would you connect with a developer perhaps by reading through posts by existing developers working on browser extensions because then we would have a project to build and fund?

OK, thanks. Sorry, I'm pretty new still so I don't know many people yet. I've been trying to find someone interested in helping me but I don't have a very big reach yet. I'll keep working on it! :)

Joe, check your wallet history. I sent you a small gift!

Thanks! That was a nice surprise! :)

@littlejoeward you did nothing wrong at all. If anything, I think you should be rewarded for developing an algorithm that'd take into consideration voting habits, followers, and favorite tags to find content that would otherwise go unnoticed. Right now a wonderful content goes unnoticed and therefore earns no point whereas there are people who are busy searching for that particular kind of content.

In my opinion your algorithm is a major breakthrough and you definitely need help to see it through. After all, it'd be to the benefit of Steemians.

I'll suggest you find out actual cost of completing the project. You'll be surprised some people will take interest in it and support you with finance. Do not hide your lamp under the table, my friend.

I agree with you. Right now, it's just one big circle jerk focused on the trending steemians soaking up all the rewards. It's hard to find anything enjoyable since there's such a flood of content, so the easiest thing to do is to just click trending haha. Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22