Application for server budget costs co. Jerry Banfield

in #budget7 years ago

@jerrybanfield recently posted about an initiative whereby back up witnesses below rank 80 can apply to the @budget account in order to receive a payment of 100 Steem to be used to pay server costs.

https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/100-steem-for-witnesses-below-rank-80

This is my application.

I have been running my witness now for 17 days. My server has the following specs and is rented from @someguy123's @privex.

During this time I have attained a rank of 106, effective rank 92 due to disabled witnesses above me.

To date I have received and witnessed 32 blocks, without missing any.

Capture.PNG

There was a small problem with my price feed not updating last week due to a node being withdrawn, but with help from @drakos this was quickly fixed and my price feed has remained up to date.

As a 'social witness' I am in no way a developer. My strength lies in my community efforts on the platform. I have returned to my moderator position at @minnowsupport, helping to guide newcomers to Steem. I am co-admin at @thewritersblock, a 620 strong writers group helping to ensure quality work is posted to the blockchain. Through our efforts at The Block, we are introducing more outside members to Steem, hopefully adding value to the platform.

I also run my @muxxybot curation account, seeking out worthy posts by relative newcomers, to share with the community. There is a 25 member curation team that helps make this possible, each of which gets paid SBD shares according to their featured nominations.

I am proud of my Introduce a New Steemian initiative I started 6 weeks back. I seek out #introduceyourself posts and share them in a post, writing a little about the new Steemian in question. All SBD earned through these posts gets sent to the featured Steemian upon payout. I encourage others to do the same and I am happy to say many others have done so. I compile all #ians tagged posts in a weekly roundup post, shining a light on their efforts to help the newcomers.

Through the various Discord channels I frequent, as well as through my witness update posts, I try to enlighten people as to the function and importance of witnesses and why it is vital that they support good witnesses who keep their servers running, up to date, and with regularly updated price feeds. I have shown many users how to actually go about voting for witnesses and this is an area I feel needs to be improved upon as it is not at first glance obvious.

I hope to be able to get a back up witness server up and running some time in the near future and to provide a Steem seed, funds allowing. I have great faith in the platform and want to do all I can to support its growth.

I foresee great things for the future of Steem. We all know how slow the likes of Bitcoin is in processing transactions. Steem is many times faster. If you click the following link, you will see Bitcoin is averaging around 20 transactions a second.

https://blockchain.info/unconfirmed-transactions

Steem on the other hand can handle thousands per second. I see the price rising substantially over the next twelve months and have a lot of faith generally in the community.

I do all I can to try to encourage positivity and good community relations in every facet of my interactions both on the blockchain and in the Discord groups, paying particular attention to newer users.

As my account grows through my witness payments, I look forward to being able to support worthy causes and initiatives through delegation. I currently delegate to @minnowsupport, @msp-music and @sft.

Thank you for your consideration @jerrybanfield.




Like what I do? Vote for my witness https://steemit.com/~witnesses - scroll below top the 50 witnesses and enter my name in the text box, then click vote. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Sent! Thank you very much @gmuxx for your service to Steem as a witness and for explaining what projects you are involved in with this update!

Great news to hear your back as a moderator at MSP dude.
Back where you belong my man!
Best of luck with your application Muxxy.

Cheers buddy.

If you can setup a witness and get everything working you’re far more technical than you give yourself credit for. Goodluck getting the budget costs, you definitely deserve it!

I'd rather have an artist running things that ultimately involve people than a technologist. Good luck!

Thank you.

Wow! Really, a great effort you did... I can't do what you are doing... Charity volunteer is enough to me. (^_^) I am supporting you...

Thank you, much appreciated.

Well-done @gmuxx i think you deserve the 100 steem...

Thank you.

amazing job man. 17 days in you are already in the top 100. Congrats.

Thanks, I have some great support.

Yes, absolutely deserving, and a very committed witness to making Steem a better place.

Thank you for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28