5 Ways To Save Money When You're Broke AF

in #budget6 years ago (edited)

Even those of us with the best budget sense can go a little overboard with Christmas. When you have kids, it's hard to not want to give them the world every single day, and Christmas is an excuse to do just that. And, while I may put money aside to shop for Christmas, I still find myself blowing my budget out of the water. Top this off with the fact that birthdays are two weeks before and two weeks after Christmas, and now we've got a budget that's off-kilter.

While we've never been in financial jeopardy, we have had to pinch some pennies until the monetary cushion returned. I've found 5 ways that I've been able to save here and there, and it helps speed up recovery time significantly!

1.Use Cashback Apps

If you're not a crazy coupon lady, but you like to be shopping savvy, Ibotta and Checkout51 are amazing apps to use! You're buying these things anyway, might as well make your money back. Bonus! You can load these "coupons" onto your shopping rewards cards, too. Bigger extra bonus! You get money when you and your 'team' of friends meet monthly goals.
(Use my referral link and we both get a bonus. Yaaaaaaaaas! https://ibotta.com/r/oqiza )

2.Have a meatless/soup/leftover menu option

The USDA has stated that the average "thrifty" budget for a family of four, where the children are in age range of 2-5 years old, is $558.90.
( Source: https://www.cnpp.usda.gov/sites/default/files/CostofFoodDec2017.pdf )
How can you get it lower? How can you accommodate a larger family size, or older children? What if you have food allergies? Well, don't worry. I've got you!

-Set aside one day a week that everyone eats up the leftovers. This helps save food waste, money, AND you don't have to actually 'cook' anything. That's always a win/win in my book.
-Crock Pots are your friend! Soups and stews can be used as leftovers, and are pretty filling as a supper for these cold winter days.
-Going meatless doesn't have to be murder! You can dress up old recipes and try new ones by simply googling 'meatless'. If you must have meat, try one of the other options.

By simply 'trimming the fat' this way, you can save anywhere between $35 and $75 a month on groceries.
Not enough savings? Head on over to https://hotmessinmommyland.wordpress.com to folllow my upcoming series 'Frugal Resolutions'!

3.Stop bleeding yourself dry for your cable company!

Two years ago, we cut down to the basic package (which didn't even have the kid channels, so PBS was our go-to. And lemme tell you, Caillou is a bane on our children.)
Then, our cable company increased this package cost, twice, in a year. I had to go with internet only, and rely on Netflix to save me! But then I had to pay extra for different screens. And new shows? Pfft. I wasn't seeing anything unless it was on my streaming service. So I looked at Sling TV and Hulu, and paid for them, too. After a while, I realized I had all these extra expenses just automatically coming out, and I really didn't have a handle on my entertainment budget. Again.

Enter Legacy Direct Streaming media boxes. $20 a month for any show I could want to watch. And when I say any show, I mean any show. Currently, we're binge watching Blue's Clues, with Steve, and after the kids go to bed? I'm flipping between episodes of Doctor Who and Golden Girls. There's a live TV option available, too, for Sunday and Monday night football. I save even MORE money than I did with Netflix and Hulu alone. (Referral Link: http://wisco.legacyretail.direct/ )

4.Experiences over Stuff

The snowy days have come, and I turn to library activities, indoor playground playdates, crafting with recyclables, and more often than not, these are cheaper options that are enriching for the whole family! Spend less time buying things to entertain the kiddos, and do something. From my experience, after having a fun day with Mom, there's less fighting over toys, supper, and bedtimes.

5.Gently Used over New

Consignment stores are your best friend. Baby shower in your future? BOOM! Easy gift.
Kids need new shoes before the end of the school year? BAM! Kids consignment stores have policies on their clothes and shoes, meaning those sneakers won't have tears, rips, or missing treads.
Need to replace an appliance? Your local Salvation Army probably has a variety of the same, in different styles!
You're doing a service by keeping these businesses going, and getting a great deal on items. Can't stand the idea of someone else wearing your clothes beforehand? Try clearance rack shopping before going for the full price item.

Now, let's all keep our fingers crossed, and see our rocky budget get back to normal by 2nd quarter!

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for these tips, they all sound really useful! I can do some saving using almost all points (we don't have a television at all), but most of our spending goes on hotel cost and flight tickets...we go away a lot, that's where we should probably cut down a bit.

Flight tickets started getting CRAZY when we had our 2nd child; We've started packing coolers and going on road trips instead.

Your advices for saving are great @emprata88!
But, I don't like the approach! I think you would be better of focusing on earning more than focusing on saving more. Just my personal opinion.

Earning more is the way to go, but how do you earn? Unless somebody you know gives you a better job. Nobody gives me work and I'm trying to do stuff on my own, but nothing gives.

Working for an employer you won't earn more. He says how much he'll pay and if you agree – that's it.

And like in Lithuania the minimum wage is like 400 eur, you work for 2.66 eur per hour. This is a slaves price.

I never worked in my life, back in the day I was reinstalling windows for 50 litas, but those days are gone. I have no experience, no knowledge and no patience to sit in a job all day.

Take responsibility for your own life... don't wait for somebody to give you a better job. Go search and approach new people until you find one. Don't like Lithuania, move the fuck out to a better country. You are just complaining, that's why you are where you are. I've just read your other posts and your intro post... you are complaining about medium, you are complaining about blogger, and in 2-3days you'll complain about steemit too. Stop fucking complaining and start learning how to do things the right way and you'll see rewards. Stop fucking bitching about everything. It's disguisting. If you want something, work for it!

Whatever dude.

Heeeey, we have to look at both sides! This post is a way to approach saving when you've tapped yourself too thin!
I am a firm believer in multiple streams of income, but sometimes, you've got to wait a few days for checks and paypal deposits to clear. These are easier ways to be able to manage between those times, or get started with saving if you're just starting out!

Hi, I just saw your Facebook post. Welcome to Steemit!! This is Shareelynn. I like your writing style! Reblogging and following you now. STEEM on!! :)

Hey hun! Glad to see you on here!

I'm on disability and I get just 190 eur and I need a new computer, because with this ACER CHROMEBOOK 14 I can't even play my favorite games and it like kills me.

I've already sit without a phone.

On the previous month I gave my mother 100 EUR and she like spent it on one frikin day.

Money is like the headache of my life... Never had money, never will have money. #BUMLIFE forever. :(

in venezuela it is strange when we eat chicken or meat at lunch because the prices are higher than the salary, so we have developed a lot of ideas of meatless meals

Rice, dry beans, and potatoes. With those three super cheap choices, you can make a ton of different meals, with the addition of a few extra things, for under $2 a plate.

For TV, get an antenna. A shitty indoor antenna will make you think that over the air TV sucks, but a good outdoor one will bring in quite a few channels. It's not exactly a cheap solution, until you realize how much cheaper it is over the course of a year. Combine that will a DVR, and you're golden.
Of course, your choice likely gives you more options, but the classic way still actually works really well. I haven't watched cable for years. I even had basic cable for a while and didn't watch it. It provides similar channels as basic cable, for free, after the investment in an antenna.

We have tried the TV channels, but out here we get 2, with fuzzy reception! The BTVi3 has the best of both worlds. XD

wow...almost no channels, but good internet. that seems unusual.

They've just put in the fiber optic cables. I swear, it's a scam from the cable companies to keep us invested.

Or a plot by the government to monitor all of our activity.

You can literally live on potatoes alone. (and probably improve your overall health). They provide complete nutrition apart from B12 which you can supplement with spray. There's a guy who only ate potatoes for a whole year and tracked his health with regular blood tests and medical check ups. His results were outstanding. LED lighting is another big saver. I reduced my power usage by about 25% by switching from halogen to LED. As for TV, forget it. There's better stuff on youtube and TV only drains your wallet with advertising.

100% agreed. Cable and satellite are like 90% commercials, and their prices keep hiking up!

Potatoes are amazing, and are definitely a staple in our house!!

ya te vote ,buen post sigueme para poder seguir creciendo juntos en esta familia de steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42