Anarcho-Andrei: A New Witness StatementsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #budget6 years ago

I've been a witness for five months now, and it's been one hell of a ride. Given that I'm approaching my six month mark, I thought I'd make a new witness statement.

Who I Am

My name is Andrei Chira. I'm a writer in fiction and non-fiction, a former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, and the father of the most awesome little girls on the planet. I've been on Steemit since August of 2016. I joined mainly for political reasons, as Steemit is a platform where censorship doesn't exist (even when flagging is involved). No central authority can ban you or force you off the platform, and there's more than one way to access the blockchain. The more time I spent here, though, the more incredible people I met, and I've stayed for the amazing community I've found here. I came here as a cryptocurrency newbie, and, thanks to the enormous wealth of information and good people willing to teach, I think I've got a solid handle on how this works. Of course, I'm still learning, but that's half the fun!

Witness Server Configuration

At the moment, I am running a primary witness node and a secondary witness node that serves as a back-up. Both operate the same configuration:

  • 32GB DDR3 ECC RAM
  • 2x2TB hard drives
  • Intel Xeon E3 quad-core CPU
  • 20TB available bandwidth

I'm also running @drakos failover script, which automatically switches from my primary to my backup in the event there is a connection loss or a block is missed.

Witness Contributions

Unlike many of the top 20 witnesses, I'm not a developer or coder (though I'd like to be). As it stands, I'm attending law school, and that takes up the time I could otherwise use to learn how to code. That being said, I do my best to contribute in other ways. Currently, I produce The Fictioneers' and The State of the Witness podcasts. The first focuses around the writing activities and writing advice that I and others on The Writers' Block provide to aspiring authors. The second is a podcast that I and @swelker101 co-host and I produce, focusing on Steemit news, witness-related projects, and interviews with other witnesses concerning both their projects and their points of concern and excitement on the Steem blockchain.

I'm also a moderator on The Writers' Block, which is where my second project is primarily focused on. Given that I'm studying the law and that's where my developmental strength is, I, along with help from @thinknzombie and @uniwhisp, formulated an arbitration system for use in our Discord server. One of the issues that I've always had a problem with is the informal process for disciplining problem users and the arbitrary nature of justice in many cases. What we did was establish clear rules of procedure for bringing issues to designated moderators, rules of evidence, and clear and concise levels of disciplinary action and the means by which they can be employed. What we've also done is establish a process for publishing those decisions and actions, so that they can be viewed by the server public and serve as precedent for future decisions where questions arise regarding what action should be taken. I'm extremely proud of our system, and I welcome the opportunity to work with other servers to implement their own arbitration system.

My Thoughts on the Future of Steemit

With Hardfork 20 coming up relatively soon, user intake will be streamlined and the number of users will no doubt increase dramatically. Given the issues that so many users last year had with trying to get signed up in a timely fashion, this can't come soon enough. However, there are two things that I think will have a more significant impact on Steemit: communities, and Smart Media Tokens (SMTs).

First, communities will help organize users into groups that are more aligned on lines of interest. One of the less-than-stellar things about Steemit is that, as of now, all default feeds pull from every kind of tag. Once can pare that down manually, but it will improve user engagement in curating content when users can group together along specific interest lines and limit what they see to those interests. There's already a staggering amount of content; organizing it into easier-to-digest forms should dramatically improve user engagement.

Second, SMTs are going to revolutionize how we interact with the blockchain. Much has been made about them across Steemit, so I'm not going to go into a lot of detail here. However, I will say that different groups being able to set up their own tokens and trade those tokens around will encourage interest-specific investment. As @transisto pointed out a few months back, an SMT specifically for fiction could help fund fiction writers without taking rewards from the entire Steem reward pool. Moreover, those individual tokens can vary in price on their own, such that there could be a potential enormous market for Steem-based tokens.

I'm looking forward to the implementation of both more than anything else. I think they will dramatically change the way we interact with the blockchain in a very positive way.


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block.
Sort:  

Another worthy witness for the people. Keep it going! Always impressed with what you are up to and with all that you have on the go. People, fellow Steemians please vote for @anarcho-andrei - Honest Andy!

I try my best. Most days it doesn't feel like enough, but I'll keep doing whatever I can :D

Good to see you are still going strong in your witness activities. You have my vote (always have), and I appreciate the emphasis on fiction. I know a lot has been spoken about SMT, but I haven't really been following it, so thanks for the introduction to the topic.

My pleasure! The cool thing about SMTs is that they're going to extremely user-friendly. You literally get to establish your own side chain with seeded from the Steem blockchain. I can't wait for us to set one up for the Writers' Block!

Good luck, another worthy witness I look up to.

That's worthy praise coming from you Muxx. I'll strive to keep the standard.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Nicely written up Andrei. Glad to see an update on all you are doing as a witness.

My pleasure. I've always held that keeping your voters and Steemit generally apprised of what you're doing to earn your place is an important practice.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43