Bodh Gaya and Lessons from a Monk

in #buddha6 years ago

Bodh Gaya with tree.jpg

Interesting exploration of the day - I would like to share a memory.

We are in Bodh Gaya, facing an ancient offshoot of the Bodhi tree Buddha sat under to reach enlightenment in the place where it shelters the pilgrims today.

And I am sitting on the lawn next to my husband, looking up at the tower of Bodh Gaya. My mind is still in meditation.

And a monk comes into the section we are sitting peacefully in - I am uncomfortably aware - he is watching me intently. Sizing me up before he sits down next to me.

And he sits for a while chanting.

And I continue my meditation.

And he made exaggerated attempts to catch my attention.

But, I am in a state of unease as I feel him regarding me.

And I continue looking at the tower.

I sat in discomfort for a full minute of his energetically pulling at me before respect for the monk as a human being and old-fashioned politeness came over me, and I acknowledged him.

But I was thinking, "What does he want?"

And he talked "small talk" with me.

And I learned his name; I learned he is from Tibet, I learned he had been in India for two months, I learn lots of things about his story I did not believe to be true.

At one point, he wanted to check to see if I understood his English, so he tested me by asking me a question, and he discovered I could follow his meaning.

It was then he asked me for money to buy a train ticket to Delhi.

And I did not know what to do - so I feigned (and hoped) I misheard him.

And when my husband and I left, I bowed and respectfully said, "Namaste" and smiled.

He frowned at me.

And when I turned again to say goodbye with an open heart and love - he glared at me.

And these things confuse me.

Acceptance of him as he claims he is - a monk in need of money to board the train to Delhi-

Acceptance of him viewing me as a money tree -

Acceptance of his disturbance of me as I sat in quiet contemplation of life -

Acceptance of his manipulations to sway me into playing a bit part in his movie of life, a part I did not audition for, that of a "wealthy foreigner."

How to be respectful and kind in these situations without losing acceptance and love towards the human being that is the monk -

When really -

I was not looking to play with lies and manipulations. I just wanted to be left in peace, enjoying the temple and being.

WWBD - What Would Buddha Do?

bodh Gaya.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50