Federal Reserve Report Claims BTC Might Be Worth 1800 USD

in #btc6 years ago

I just found this article:

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/bitcoin-price-hypotehtical-value-1-000006888.html?guccounter=1

In this report from the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco released on the 18th of May Joost van der Burgt author of the publication claims that Bitcoin might have a value of 1800 USD because that's how much the mining costs are.

Now I got a question for him: How much is a 100 USD bill really worth, given the costs of paper and ink???

Sort:  

You might like @marketreport.

Exactly. Maybe its worth the gold reserve that backs it up. Ha ha

Also if I could mine a bitcoin for $1800. I would quite my day job and invest as much money as I could round up into miners. That number is ridiculous.

Yeah, it's pretty crazy. Something tells me that if it really 'only' costs 1800 USD to mine 1 BTC, there would be way more miners. And so the cost would automatically move closer to the value on the exchanges.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78