Bitcoin close calls

in #btc7 years ago

I was curious to see if anyone had any stories to share about losing Bitcoin or some other crypto currency, or almost losing it. I almost lost about 1.3 BTC a few months ago. A couple years ago, a friend had convinced me to get a Verso card to use to store bitcoins offline. For those of you that don't know what it is, you order this plastic card from a company in Switzerland and when you order it, you set up your private keys. It's essentially a glorified paper wallet, but the added benefit was that there was a Verso app that worked with it. You used the app to scan the public side of the card to deposit BTC or you could scan the private side and spend some of your BTC (as long as you knew the password).

Well, I hadn't used my Verso card in a long time, although I still deposited BTC to that public address from time to time. I had my phone in my hand one day and I decided to check the Verso app to see if it looked any different since I hadn't used it in a while. To my surprise, the app was gone from my phone. Then, when I tried to re-download it from the app store, I found out that it wasn't there either. The app was completely gone. The company that developed the Verso cards seemed to just vanish and their website was offline. Luckily, they had previously released a tool on github that would allow you to scan the private side of the card and sweep it into a different wallet, provided you still knew your password. Luckily, I still knew it, and I was able to successfully transfer it into a different wallet. However, this was also right around the time that bitcoin started to experience a lot of lag with confirmations. It took about 8 hours for that 1.3 BTC to transfer to confirm and transfer to my other wallet, so I was pretty worried for a while. Anyway, that's my bitcoin scare. Anyone have a story to share?

Sort:  

Congratulations @axel2078! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57136.05
ETH 2350.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40