Crypto-regret

in #btc7 years ago

“I first got in to Bitcoin in 2012. One Bitcoin was worth $4 at the time. I immediately got hooked and knew Bitcoin would be huge one day. Unfortunately I was also very poor. The most I could afford to buy was $400 worth (100 BTC).” This is how SuperDuperDerp‘s story kicks-off on Reddit.

“The price didn’t move much, so I stopped checking after a couple weeks. When I came back to it a month later, the price had steadily increased to $8 per coin. Surprised at my small windfall, and thinking it was too soon for Bitcoin to really take off, I sold all 100BTC for $800 and planned to buy in again when the price went down.” However, he never did it. “I watched it climb and climb until I finally bought back in around $100, netting me 8 BTC.

“I let my feelings get the best of me and panic sold/bought a few times during the 2013 turmoil, and most recently had to sell a few BTC as I was in dire straights,” the Redditor adds to his or her story.

“Now I have a little over 2BTC and am marginally better off than I was in 2012. I like to believe that if I had been financially comfortable in 2012 I would have bought a chunk of BTC to save long term and wouldn’t have been so quick to sell. But who knows? It takes money to make money.”

Sort:  

Congratulations @amroalhafi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39