BTC-E Refunds

in #btc-e7 years ago

A little over a month ago I posted my story about how the closure of BTC-E has affected me. For over a month there was acceptance that all my coins were gone yet a bit of hope that they could at least refund users.

This past weekend BTC-E gave the opportunity for users to get 55% of their coins back now but forfeit the other 45% or wait till the new exchange opens on the 15 and possibly get more than 55% back.

With so much uncertainty with the new exchange I have decided to just get 55% refunded. Yesterday BTC-E mostly made good on their word and refunded 55% of by Bitcoin, Ethereum and Litecoin. I have not received any Bitcoin Cash as of this post. I'm not sure if it's they don't have the system in place to do it or it just takes longer than normal. Whatever the reason is, I'm okay if I don't get it. The main thing for me is that my most of my other coins are back.

When the new Exchange does open on the 15th, I may look into to getting their coin to raise funds that they mentioned earlier if the price drops. I think it would be a good thing to buy as short term investment.

All in all I'm glad how things turned out. Worse case scenario all was lost and they run with my coins. Best case scenario 100% of my coins are refunded. The outcome of 55% is a lot better than nothing.

Sort:  

Man, sorry about this issue, I hope you get the 100% of your coins, but at least 55% would be a lot more than I have seen so many users not get when other exchanges went down. Good on BTC-E for at least trying, they are one for originals in the Bitcoin game from the beginning, so it was sad to see them go down at all.

Going to type this out not for you, as you already know, but for anyone else, DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CRYPTO ON EXCHANGES! Crypto currencies on these decentralized blockchain systems have one of their biggest benefits hindered once you leave the control of your coin to someone else. Just think on it. If you do not want to hold all your Bitcoin or Steem or whatever coin yourself, then stop using it and just leave your fiat cash in a bank. For everyone else, start using things like http://bitsquare.io and other decentralized exchange options as they become available.

Normally I leave it on my own wallet but I wanted to trade. Just really bad timing. Most of my coins are in wallets I control though. I know there are folks where this was not the case which is very unfortunate.

woooow did you see that bro
@steemit-earn got 250 followers and 100 upvotes in first 3 days
great launch
lets follow and learn from him

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80