SEC | S19W1: Designing lesson plans

in #bt19w129 days ago

Hello everyone

I am excited to join this challenge and share my experiences as a tuition teacher. I have been teaching for the last eight year focusing on activity-based learning. My goal is to create an engaging and interactive learning environments where student can thrive. Let me walk you through my aproach to lesson planning and how I ensure my classes are active fun and full of enthusiasm.

Red Orange Illustration Work Plan Presentation (1).jpg

source

Learning Material: Photosynthesis and Plant Growth

I chose to teach my students about "Photosynthesis and Plant Growth." This topic not only aligns With their curriculum but also piques their curiosity about the natural world.

Designing the Lesson Plan

1. Opening Activities:

  • Introduction (10 minutes): We start with short video that visually explains the process of Photosynthesis. This sets the stage for the lesson and captures the students' interest right away.
  • Icebreaker Question (5 minutes): I ask my students "What do you think plants need to grow?" This encourage them to think and share their idea fostering collaborative learning environment.

IMG_20240712_155555.jpg

2. Core Activities:

  • Interactive Lecture (20 minutes): I use a PowerPoint presentation to explain the key point of photosynthesis such the roles of sunlight water and carbon dioxide. This structured approach ensures that students understand the fundamental concepts.
  • Group Activity (25 minutes): I divide the class into small groups and have them create diagrams of the photosyntheis process using colored paper markers and other craft supplies. This activity promotes teamwork and reinforces their understanding through creative expresion.
  • Experiment (20 minutes): We conduct a hands on experiments where students place a plant in sunlight and another in the dark. They make predictions and record their observations over a week. This real-life application of theoretical concept engages them in active learning.

3. Closing Activities:

  • Discussion (10 minutes): Each group presents their diagrams and shares their experiment prediction. This allows students to articulate their understanding and learn from their peers.
  • Reflection (5 minutes): I ask students to write short paragraph about what they learned and what surprised them the most about photosynthesis. This reflection helps consolidate their learning and encourages critical thinking.

IMG_20240710_174230.jpg

IMG_20240710_174712.jpg

Choosing the Right Method

I use a combination of lecture group work and hands on experimentation. This blend of methods is the most appropriate because:

  • Lecture: Provides a clear and structured explanation of photosynthesis.
  • Group Work: Encourages collaboration and reinforces learning through peer interaction.
  • Hands-on Experimentation: Engages students in active learning and helps them observe real-life applications of theoretical concepts.

Tools and Media

To ensure my students understand the material well I use the following tools and media:

  • PowerPoint Presentation: For visual explanation during the lecture.
  • Colored Paper and Markers: For creating diagrams in the group activity.
  • Plants Pots Soil: For the hands on experiment.
  • Video: To grab students' attention and provide engaging start to the lesson.
  • Journals: For students to record their observations and reflections.

IMG_20240710_174132.jpg

IMG_20240710_174733.jpg

Conclusion

By focusing on activity-based learning I have seen my students become more engaged and enthusiastic about their studie. Preparing a detailed lesson plan ensures that the learning process is organized effective and enjoyable. I hope this approach inspire others to create dynamic and interactive learning Experiences for their students.

Thank you for the opportunity to share my teaching journey. I look forward to Learning from all of you and continuing to grow as an educator.

Sort:  
Loading...

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 6
: Congratulations! This post has been curated using steemcurator06. We appreciate your efforts on making quality blogs and post relevant comments. Thank You 😊


footer.jpg

Curated by : @pelon53

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60