"SEC | S19W1: Designing lesson plans"

in #bt19w1last month (edited)

I was reading a book one day and came across a line in the book that said;

If you can read this, thank your teacher.

7101ED25-C6D1-4D02-BF8C-A1C81546650F.jpeg
Designed on Canva

Have you imagined what the world would be like without teachers? Funny enough teaching is one of the most unappreciated and under valued profession yet they are so relevant.

Just yesterday I was talking to colleague who was once a teacher and she lamented so much about how she was mistreated by both her employer and her pupils parents when she was teaching.

Then she made a very striking statement, she said when she gives birth to children, that she would so much appreciate her children’s teachers because of her ordeal as a teacher. Now that’s impressive.

What material do you want to teach to students or to your child?

I’ve been a teacher in a school and lately I’ve been teaching my little niece and helping her out with her school work.

I would be teaching her with her school text books and home work book. We would also be using a pen and a pencil with an eraser. I also include an extra book where she has to do her rough work or calculations before the actual transfer to her books.

Explain how you would design the opening activities, core activities and closing activities in a learning material?
5FFF9261-8AC7-4C4A-9309-BE699E96D70F.jpegMy niece learning

The opening activity is a vey important activity as it helps to child to get into learning frame of mind. The environment has to be friendly and conducive for a great learning.

Hence we start up with singing some primary rhymes as she’s in primary school and because children love to play a lot, this gets her in a good spirited mood. When she’s relaxed, we begin the lesson.

What method will you use, explain why it is the most appropriate?

My niece is 10 hence I use a combination of the lecture method a little with demonstration where I try to break down what I want to pass across to her in the simplest language she would understand.

Then I proceed to use the question and answer method where she would have to answer some questions I would ask her based on what I’ve taught her already in her own understanding.

The use of these three method always produces good result cos at the end of the day, the information is passed across and she’s able to grasp it.

1CE50824-9653-4E70-82E9-2B47AD8CA7F8.jpegHelping my niece out with her home work
What tools and media do you need so that learners can understand it well?

Children tend to learn better with what they see hence she uses the media a lot where we subscribe a YouTube channel which teaches kids and she learns along with them.

This has helped to improve her vocabulary and ability to know things. She also has counters which she uses for he calculations.

One would not have said to have learnt if the knowledge is not reproduced hence teaching needs to follow appropriate method for effective results.

Thank you for coming down this lane with me as I ask @ruthjoe, @Jovita30 and @ninapenda to drop their thoughts on this.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Greetings

Indeed teaching is noble profession and you are teacher by profession which is really a good thing.

You are teaching your niece at home and helping her out in doing homework and other designs take which is great.

You people are using pencil to do homework being professional teacher obviously you knew very well how to teach little children so that didn't bore and got excited while doing different activities.

Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43