DIY: How to make a curved garden bridge

in #bridge5 years ago (edited)

Summer is finally upon us, and it is time to enjoy the garden and all its wonders! Don't you all just want curved garden bridges? In my garden I have a big stream and a small stream. I just really wanted some bridges, and when my dad came visiting we decided to just go through with it. We did it all as easy as possible! So then I thought, why not tell you all about how we did it? They almost didn't cost me anything! Also you don't have to have streams or rivers to make a bridge, it could just as well be a ditch, or curves in the landscape.


When we bought this property, there were some pressure treated pallets laying around, so we simply removed the nails and cut the planks to the desired lenght. I do recommend pressure treated materials, as they won't rot, even when laying close to the ground and on wet places.

So how to make the curve? I'm sure you could buy already curved planks, but I guess they will become a little costy!
We bought the widest pressure treated plank we found at the local carpentry store, and then we cut it with a jigsaw. I have an electric one. I just drew the curve free hand, then placed the parts opposite. It looked like this:



Try to make the curve as arched as possible!



Fused together with those pieces of steel



Then we nailed the planks, two nails on each side of the plank.



We did dig a bit in the ground so the bridges lay nicely, and put some flat rocks to step on, on each side.



My cats kind of like them! Here is a pond we made, now with a LED fountain.



I've had these bridges for a couple of years already. We made two curved, and one smaller flat bridge. I kind of want to make a railing on them, but we'll see! It would look cool if it was rustic, or just ropes. Or what do you think? These bridges could look really enchanting with railing and lanterns, or fairy lights! Or garden statues :)

For safety, I've nailed a few planks at 2 cm width on each side of the bridge, so people won't slip on them.

Are you ready to make your own bridge?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.voiceofnature.earth/curvedgardenbridge/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17