Afternoon stroll along the Victoria Promenade

in #briard6 years ago

36281482_1818408801572879_6943011648428834816_o.jpg

I am well used to Laz stopping traffic...I mean people even jump out of their cars sometimes to come over and pet him, ask me about him and take photos of him and I think it is lovely.

But today I had a rather unnerving experience while out walking him along the Promenade. A young man on a bike to my left was keeping pace with us on the street as I walked with Laz on the sidewalk.

When I stop, Laz stops that's just the way we vibe. When I go then Laz goes simple as that, no lead him trotting along ahead of me as usual just whatever I do he does.

Well this young fellow kept staring at Laz and when I stopped and then Laz stopped, he stopped. Then when I started again and Laz started again he started on his bike again never taking his eyes off of my dog.

I was suddenly aware of another young fellow walking ahead of us but towards us and I got a really weird feeling so I called Laz in to "our promenade walk" which means he comes to me and settles into a tight heel at my left side and he keeps 100% pace with my speed like he is actually attached to my leg.

We came to the area where we stop to cross the road and I held him up to look for traffic and the young fellow on the bike crossed behind us and just stopped his bike a few feet away from us and just kept staring at us.

It was very odd, gave me the willies and this was in the middle of the day in a very public place. Did not say one word to me just kept staring at Laz.

Laz is extremely protective of me if anyone makes any fast movements towards me so I felt safe in that sense it was just a very odd feeling. Otherwise we met our usual array of wonderful people while out for our afternoon stroll.

Sort:  

Dachshunds were originally bred for fighting badgers.

Laz is so amazing just like you @thebohemianangel....dogs are a reflection of their owner...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28