Breastmilk to treat Eczema!

Human breast milk is by far the best source of energy and food for infants. Recently, there was a study that demonstrated human breast milk also offer protection against atopic dermatitis, also known as eczema. Human breast milk is known to provide nutrition for infants and offer protection against infections. It has significant amounts of complement components that contain natural antimicrobial agents.

When my daughter was about 3 months old she started to get dry patches on her back and arms. As a first time mom I did as much research as possible to heal these dry patches without using hydro-cortisone, which is a steroid cream. Unfortunately eczema is a very common skin condition affecting children. The disease is characterized by recurrent red and itchy rash on the skin. Children with eczema suffer from uncontrollably itch, difficulty sleeping, bleeding, and infection.

I came across a breastfeeding support page where I then learned that my very own milk can be used to help heal my daughter's eczema. Having looked more into it, I came across a mother who spoke about "breast-milk baths" for her little one. The mother spoke about how miraculous breast milk can be and how effective it was when used as a bath. Now I won't lie to you guys, I was a little skeptical about trying the breast-milk bath because I didn't want to waste 8-12 ounces of breast-milk that I've stayed up late to express. However, not having any other option other than steroid creams, I decided to give the breast-milk bath a try.

OMG!!! I was AMAZED!!!

I used about 15 ounces of freshly pumped breast-milk and added lukewarm water to fill up the baby's bathtub. I laid the baby in her first breast-milk bath and used a cloth to distribute the water all over her little body. She seemed very relax in the water and even tried tasting the water/breast-milk every time I picked up the cloth.

No, lie two days later her dry patches were almost unnoticeable! I was in awe! I knew right there and then that I would have to pump extra to be able to give my sweet girl these baths at least once a week! Her father was amazed as well!

Breast-milk is my magic potion. Breast milk is like coconut oil to me LOL!! It has many uses and I will never stop promoting it!!!

I have some science to back me up as well!

There was a study conducted by a group of dermatologists in Iran who showed that human breast milk is as effective as 1% hydrocortisone ointment to treat infants with eczema. A total of 104 infants with a diagnosis of eczema were enrolled in the clinical trial, and the infants were randomly assigned to two groups. Group A with 50 infants received 1% hydrocortisone (weak steroid) ointment, and Group B with 54 infants received human breast milk. Mothers in group B were instructed to rub hind milk (breast milk at the end of breastfeeding) twice a day on the affected area of their infants with eczema.

All infants were evaluated at day 1, 7, 14 and 21 days of the treatment. Nearly 82% of the infants receiving human breastmilk, and 76% using 1% hydrocortisone reported healing of their eczema conditions. Based on the results, the investigators in the study suggested human breast milk is as good as 1% hydrocortisone ointment in healing eczema in infants.

Human breast milk has wound healing properties.

Breast milk was heaven sent, LITERALLY!!!!!

Sort:  

Avid supporter of Breast feeding here! I was breast feed and both my children were as well. I applaud any woman who stands up for her right to breast feed in public!!!!!!!!

And if you find it offensive, then don't be staring at her pervert!!!

upvote

Haha thank you!! I agree and it makes me happy when people support breastfeeding in public!!! it is the most natural thing a woman can do!!!

Congratulations @breastfeedingmom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74